price for 4g63 dohc n/a

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
anybody know?manual required.to be transplanted into perdana v6.aand also,who wan 6a12 n/a auto?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
A 4G63 DOHC NA can get as low as RM 800 to RM 1.2k with auto gearbox. If manual, the gearbox alone cost RM 500.

Why do u want to use a 4 banger to haul a heavy chassis? Maintain the 6 banger and swap for a manual gearbox instead - don't need JPJ inspection. Plus, u will gain extra mileage. Gearbox for 6A12 should cost around RM 1k to RM 1.5k with all the necessary items.

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
coz the 6a12 is real petrol drinker,however my final decision hav yet to make.i hav asked around the manual gear box for pv6,cost me around rm 2200.they becoz the clutch,brake pedal set is hard to get nowadays

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
4g63 dohc n/a should have more possibility to mod ritr?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
6A12 only drinks petrol if mated to an auto gearbox.

4G63 also drinks petrol... mine is 4G63T, RM 50 = 150km. My previous 4G63 NA, RM 50 = 280km. Not that economical also.

Only benefit of downgrading is u save on service fees (try replace spark plugs on 6A12 - need to remove the intake manifold).

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
ur previous 4g63 n/a is perdana sei or dohc version?if comparing the data u gave,it make a big different.

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
Galants of his version normally uses the DOHC version. The 1 wic looks like vr4-evo3 engine from the valve cover.
N i confirm he is using DOHC coz im his fren...hehe..

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
i personally thinks that,dohc giv better mileage than sohc.wat is the timing belt replacement cost for vr4 or evo 4g63t?

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
i think u better change ur g/b to manual then everythings settle...try to ask sifus in proton's forum,sure the same answer...

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
I will agree with 5115, spend RM 2.2k to swap to manual gearbox instead. If u buy 4G63 DOHC NA plus gearbox + wiring loom + ECU, it will cost more than the 6A12 gearbox itself. Plus, u need to add inspection fees and installation fees which can be from RM 1.2k to RM 1.5k depending on the mech.

So, in the end, u actually spend more money for an older engine and probably with less power due to Perdana V6 heavy chassis. A heavy chassis will contribute to higher FC.

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
i hav a weird question to ask;
since i get the pv6,i drive it smoothly so that the auto g.box change its gear around 2.2k rpm.would the f/c be same if i hav convert to manual and shift gear whenever it reached 2k rpm?wonder y auto always take more fuel than manual gear.anybody knows?

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
Recently i tried wif my auto box also. Keep 2-2.5kROM constant. FC is better.
Wif manual even better FC wif tis rpm range.

Reason: Auto box use torque converter to transmit the power. N is quite heavy n big in size. Manual jus use a flywheel. Thinner n should be lighter than the torque converter a lot. So work done is less a lot.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
FC on auto is higher because a computer does all the shifting. As u already know, computers don't know the road conditions or have the same abilities as a human driver.

Power-loss mainly due to the torque converter.

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
so the conclusion is that;the torque converter is the weakest link?

anyone knows how to do this?

can we just source for a used ignition coil from the scrap yard and connect it to a 12V?

Brand new Exhaust gas ignition system
Produces flames from all single pipe exhaust systems
Full fitting instructions and parts supplied
Fits all cars except those listed below

****Not suitable for the following cars****

All Diesel Engines, Subaru Impreza, Toyota (Distributor Ignition)...