Performance Camshafts

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Most of us who chg cams will use evo stock cams. I'm asking if anyone else use cams like hks or tomei in their Airtrek.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I see... I heard with the right cams, adv timing and tuning with stock evo mods, we can get 300whp even not using 2.4L kit. So that's why it interests me. Ya'know, wanting that 30whp more. Hahaha..

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
1.5 bar is safe level. U can boost to even 2 bar but briefly only. If you keep at that level for long, engine will kong.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I've seen stock internal reaching 2 bar.

Actually 1.5 is considered high for us but must use bigger turbo. Stock turbo is no point reaching above 1.2. Anything higher won't gain much fr td04.

Original only 0.6 bar la.

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
my point of view, 2 bar of boost is not practical for daily use.. only drag car set that high. even most race car ( in my experience, kancil turbo) set boost below 2 bar to maintain engine endurance during race..

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
anyone know how to send our stock airtrek camshaft for engineering to get higher profile n lift? i know matspeed can do it.. any idea?

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
High profile to low can do but low to high, add steel and re-machine it?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
yup. i dont know for sure how they do it. but basically it may need to be welded back and re-grind the profile i think.. and i heard the charges are quite high.. rm 1k++

Also at this weekend's Secret M Town Malaysia is the M8 Coupe and a 4 door version M8 Gran Coupe. Both are based on BMW's newest GT range but these all-out M versions are powered by 600ps V8 twin turbo from the F90 M5.

3.3 secs / 600ps / 750nm / 4.4L V8 twin turbo (S63) / 8 speed auto M Steptronic / 4WD / 1,885kg + / M8 Coupe RM1,452,960.88 / M8 Gran Coupé RM1,455,145.25...