need opinion bout intercooler n gearbox matter

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006

wanna ask u...i got gsr (t) auto tranny n want to swap with manual tranny let say evo1 gearbox withot lsd, pickup not so power???not get performance like ori gsr manual...isit true?

n if i used evo1 i/c to my gsr(td04L)..lag will happen???someone told me if i use too big i/c like evo1 i/c....my turbo will open late...only open when reach 4000rpm...

help me.....

Cheong Mou Kei 4G9XT

Ampang
www.geocities.com
ori evo gb da ratio is closer compare to gsr stock...so da evo gb pick up n response is good but crusing 5th gear rpm is higher

using stock turbine wt evo intercooler definetely turbo will lag abit...but juz abit i would say abt 100-200rpm late....n not 4k rpm.

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006
Cheong Mou Kei 4G9XT said:
ori evo gb da ratio is closer compare to gsr stock...so da evo gb pick up n response is good but crusing 5th gear rpm is higher

using stock turbine wt evo intercooler definetely turbo will lag abit...but juz abit i would say abt 100-200rpm late....n not 4k rpm.
ooo..like that...so i dont need to worry if i want use evo1 i/c lah?only 100-200rpm late,so that mean i can open the turbo when rpm reach 2.5k-2..8k rpm...fuhh...bcoz somebody told me if i'm using evo1 i/c it will be worst...turbo will open at 4k rpm.

so anybody have exp. using stock gsr turbo with evo1 i/c n evo1 g/b???

alvin24

haha... not until that lag lah.

You looking for evo intercooler? I selling mine off. Hehe...

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006
i have already evo intercooler...but members zth VexRed told me(by sms),its no problem to use evo i/c with gsr using turbine td04,base on his exp.

N i ask some of people with diff. answer..some said ok n some said not ok...i think is better if i try it 1st,trial & error???

using turbo make me brain active...heheheh

revolution3

Jan 20, 2004
ok u using piping intercooler evo or not..if using intercooler evo setup piping.. that cause of lag happen..to long way piping if using std tdo4 gsr. Better rearrange piping line, use shorter way piping from turbine n intercooler.. I hope can reduse your lag..

Just my 3 cent ideas...bro

alvin24

I've driven a TD04L GSR with EVO pipings+intercooler... doesn't feel laggy to me. I think its a personal preference maybe... in my opinion, the GSR still feels responsive with that setup.

Its kinda like if u see a guy who's 170cm tall.. then u ask people what u think of this guy's height? Some will say he's ok, some will say he's tall... maybe even some will say he's short.

So its more like... how 'laggy' does it take for you to consider if that setup is 'laggy'. Coz' needless to say... it WILL be laggier from the bigger intercooler... just that to me, i think its minimal... and still falls within my range of acceptance.

For all you know it might feel less laggy and more power... coz' after all, you ARE upgrading from a stock GSR intercooler... which btw uses a very long routed intercooler piping, and its intercooler is too small to barely cool anything.

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006
revolution3 said:
ok u using piping intercooler evo or not..if using intercooler evo setup piping.. that cause of lag happen..to long way piping if using std tdo4 gsr. Better rearrange piping line, use shorter way piping from turbine n intercooler.. I hope can reduse your lag..

Just my 3 cent ideas...bro
Ooo..like that aa?..thanx..still use stock gsr i/c..after done inspection then i will put the evo i/c..

revolution3

Jan 20, 2004
missing_nins said:
Ooo..like that aa?..thanx..still use stock gsr i/c..after done inspection then i will put the evo i/c..
bro the best filling using tdo5h from evo with std ic n side mont ic .. perhhh so nice .. no lag.. hehehe.

If u want to changing intercooler bigger then gsr std ic... For bageted i suggest u input 1jz ic.. better respon..:shades_smile:

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006
1jz i/c??mm..test with evo i/c 1st..then have money buy 1j/z i/c..

alvin24

1jz i/c can be super low profile. =Þ

Dowan to be low profile... also you WILL be wan... coz' the intercooler IMHO is ugly. hahahaha... so u'll surely spray it black wan! =Þ

It comes as black colour in its stock conditions also anywayz. haha...

flushafteruse

Jun 2, 2004
fire down below
i think u better do something at your wiring n ecu..coz auto n manual wiring totally diffrent,u will get problem with that,even do your car is manual but u still got auto engine power,i got an experiance with that..auto convert to manual

missing_nins

Mar 16, 2006
flushafteruse said:
i think u better do something at your wiring n ecu..coz auto n manual wiring totally diffrent,u will get problem with that,even do your car is manual but u still got auto engine power,i got an experiance with that..auto convert to manual
So u mean i need 2 change all my wiring n ecu or do some little mods on the wiring n ecu??how much it cost???where can i do it??flushafteruse u should help me..pm me ok??

Stirling Moss, a man known for handling the older Mercedes-Benz 300 SLR is participating Goodwood in his Porsche 718 RS 61 in this year's Goodwood. While not associated with the brand usually, he makes a good impression with the car. Check out the great video done in with his in-car camera.

YouTube - ‪Stirling Moss drives his Porsche 718 RS 61 at...