Redline Hi-Performance gear oil.. opinions/comments

amel666

Jul 24, 2008
K.L
I've just finished surveying for gear oil for my gearbox swapping project. I'll be swapping on an evo 3 full-lock LSD box to my 4g93t GSR. The brands dat i looked up was:
- Torco SGO SAE 75w-90/ (synthetic) rm 105/Lit
- Torco RGO SAE 80W-90/80w-140 (synthetic) rm 60/Lit
- Motul 90pa LSD fluid (mineral) rm 108/Lit
- Motul GEAR FF-LSD TYPE 2 TOO Expensive +-rm145/Lit
- Redline Hi-perf SAE 75w-90 (synthetic) rm 60/Lit
- Redline Hi-perf SAE 75w-140 (synthetic) rm 60/Lit

I asked for opinions frm the vendors. I cum to a conclusion dat Besides d extremely xpensive Motul GEAR FF-LSD TYPE 2... Torco SGO SAE 75W90 is d best gearbox oil but too expensive (rm315/ 3 liters). Motul is good but mineral + also expensive. Leaving only the Torco RGO SAE 80W-90, Redline Hi-perf SAE 75w90 & SAE 75w140 as an affordable options-> rm60/lit.

First, i wanted to go wit Redline 75w-140... but d vendor advice me 140 viscosity is quite thick so it needs to be driven hard to warm up d fluid. So I made my decision to buy d Redline Hi-perf SAE 75w90 after reading its label hoping that d hypoid gear oil would perform well inside d LSD box (plus budget only +-rm200). :hmmmm: Besides dat, currenly i am using Redline LightWeight ShockProof in my GSR open-diff box and find it satisfying.

I also bought Torco's LSD friction modifier additive to b mixed wit redline fluid hoping it could reduce d chatter of d LSD.

Does anybody hav any experience using Redline Hi-perf SAE 75w-90 wit their full-lock lsd box or any of the fluids stated above?
Do u think d SAE 75w-90 is enuff or better swtch the fluid wit redline 75w-140 to protect d box in our Malaysian weather? :hmmmm2:
Thanx in advance

PS:
probably be changing d fluid after +-5/8k km. Depending on d driving conditions.
[sorry 4 putting thread here & not at Car Mod section]

jinkl

May 22, 2004
im nt sure bout this
bt most of the guys in the drag scene use "redline shockproof"

^kenji^

Jul 2, 2005
try lucas gear oil.......much more better tat redline for my opinion....!

amel666

Jul 24, 2008
K.L
went back to ask whether can swap to 75w90ns, the dealer told me dat only Subaru uses them. Cant guarantee can use on evo 3 lsd box. So i left wit the 75w90.. hope it wont hurt my synchromesh.. :hmmmm:

Btw, anybody knows whether using gsr final drive in evo 3 box is smart thing to do or not? or better just use original evo 3 ratios on my est: +-300whp gsr...
Tomorrow going to swap gbox.

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
better use original evo3 gearbox ratio for 300hp... you will feel the respond...

evo3 box with gsr final drive.... good for hi speed & cruising.. off boost on gsr sure no power...

amel666

Jul 24, 2008
K.L
better use original evo3 gearbox ratio for 300hp... you will feel the respond...

evo3 box with gsr final drive.... good for hi speed & cruising.. off boost on gsr sure no power...
Thanx 4 d strait forward advise :adore:

So its best if use original evo3 ratios (FYI i'm using garret's gt2871.. but dont kno if its relevant or not to choosing the final drives..). Would i get enuf traction when starting frm grid line/idle? Would the 1st & 2nd gear be too short or just nice..
As I'm planning on using my daily driven 4 ocassional autocross & 400m sprint.

But personally, i feel like wanna try wit evo 3 ori ratios. Then i'll know how it performs. Plus less hassle coz no need to open my GSR box.
Hope i feel the engine respond & still hav reasonable top end speed. :biggrin:

I have a noob question

Can anyone tell me the difference between N1 and Sflow mufflers (or other types if i missed out any)
Also, what is a 'cat-back' :rolleyes:

Hope sifus can enlighten me with all these exhaust terms. Im planning to fit a reasonable sports exhaust on my ride. Its automatic transmission so i wonder if Universal mufflers do good on it?

HELP HELP HELP :adore: