need ae111 sifu advice pls~

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
Actually im using an ae111(A) ori engine which is 4efi...
im planning to play with the exhaust...
but im not sure what and which to put...
some ask me change 2` piping,
some say no need,stick to ori
some say change blacktop whole exhaust...
so i wish sifu here can gv me good advice...
or is there ppl using ori engine and mod the exhaust b4?
give me good advice pls...

ps,i dun wan my car to be too oil consumption or too loud.
just can have more power n better respond can edi...thx

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
what are you looking for? whats the gain that you are looking from getting some exhaust work?

I am running 4afe auto as well, running 2in header til mid and then mix match a FGK muffler. Result, not so good, not getting as much torque as original. I will suggest you to try the 2in header first, n still keep your original catback. If possible, you can look into intake mod as well. A replacement filter is good start for beginner.

blutuik

May 9, 2008
www.cardomain.com
"just can have more power n better respond can edi..."

My friend use blacktop exhaust with the cat removed...
result --> hes fully satisfied.. :burnout:

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
my mech advice me to change to bigger header,change mid and end too...but the end is not muffler...almost look like my ori but just its stainless steel...i cant ask much bcoz he is busy...he said its very suitable for torque...

---------- Post added at 02:16 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:16 AM ----------

is ur fren using 4efi?will 4age exhaust suitable?i scare it will be no power and high oil consumption?

---------- Post added at 02:17 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:16 AM ----------

is ur fren using 4efi?will 4age exhaust suitable?i scare it will be no power and high oil consumption?

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
in my opinion, stock engines should stick with stock exhaust system. Modifying exhaust layout will effect the power band of your car. If you do it right, it's ok. If setup is wrong, you'll end up losing power and lose the fuel efficiency. Stick to your stock setup is the best.

Installing the sport muffler does not necessary increase the power, you may end up losing driving comfort due to the loud noise. The entire exhaust piping system will affect your overall car performance.

My suggestion, stock engine, stick to stock exhaust system. If you have an engine swap, then only use new exhaust piping system to suit your new engine (bigger diameter, sport muffler, etc.). In the end, the choice is still yours to make.

Cheers...

FGT

May 19, 2007
Actually im using an ae111(A) ori engine which is 4efi...
im planning to play with the exhaust...
but im not sure what and which to put...
some ask me change 2` piping,
some say no need,stick to ori
some say change blacktop whole exhaust...
so i wish sifu here can gv me good advice...
or is there ppl using ori engine and mod the exhaust b4?
give me good advice pls...

ps,i dun wan my car to be too oil consumption or too loud.
just can have more power n better respond can edi...thx
I'm speaking from experience (and still experiencing) -- I removed the cat converter and changed the back muffler to 2" inlet s-flow. The results i got were (and still are) better pick-up, lower 110-120kmh cruising rpm (guesstimated at around 200rpm) and 65km for RM10 with RON95 with current RM1.90 pricing fuel consumption.

I removed the cat converter because it's already clunking inside and probably choking the exhaust flow. I changed the rear muffler because I sayang my stainless steel muffler from my old car so decided to keep it, and also the old one is clunky & and rusty a bit. Didnt expect the results would be as above, which is great IMHO.

My advice would be, don't change the piping size coz it will mess with the fuel consumption and response.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011

i agree with blutuik..

but to get more power u should concentrate on the intake side also..

open pod air filter, cold air intake, trumpet(if any)..

better intake & exhaust make ur engine 'breath' better

:biggrin:

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
I'm speaking from experience (and still experiencing) -- I removed the cat converter and changed the back muffler to 2" inlet s-flow. The results i got were (and still are) better pick-up, lower 110-120kmh cruising rpm (guesstimated at around 200rpm) and 65km for RM10 with RON95 with current RM1.90 pricing fuel consumption.

I removed the cat converter because it's already clunking inside and probably choking the exhaust flow. I changed the rear muffler because I sayang my stainless steel muffler from my old car so decided to keep it, and also the old one is clunky & and rusty a bit. Didnt expect the results would be as above, which is great IMHO.

My advice would be, don't change the piping size coz it will mess with the fuel consumption and response.
cat is the middle part of the exhaust right?
what u change for ur middle box?
is ur car manual?now im using stock exhaust...
i think my auto car full tank around rm67 can run around 280km when drive at KL city...
means my car is not that fuel efficient?
what is ur muffler type and brand?2inch S flow?
what should i tell the mech to change?

---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:28 PM ----------

i agree with blutuik..

but to get more power u should concentrate on the intake side also..

open pod air filter, cold air intake, trumpet(if any)..

better intake & exhaust make ur engine 'breath' better

:biggrin:
thanks,means ur advice is to change the air filter also right?
will it consume many oil?because my friend which is wira told me not to change
because he said his car after put air filter uses many petrol...
which type should i change?

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
i think my auto car full tank around rm67 can run around 280km when drive at KL city...

Instead of changing your exhaust, u should do some maintenance work first.
Car this age, try look into your motor mounts, and clean the throttle body. I got pretty good result from those. Plus, what size of wheels are you running? 280km is awfully low.

karhong

Apr 11, 2010

Instead of changing your exhaust, u should do some maintenance work first.
Car this age, try look into your motor mounts, and clean the throttle body. I got pretty good result from those. Plus, what size of wheels are you running? 280km is awfully low.
umm,actually i had my overall check and service since i bought the engine last year...
i even had top overhaul and change all necessary parts...can consider big service edi...
the car performance is very smooth and powerful and im satisfied with it...
im using 15inch rim and the type is wide abit,no55...it should be no.50...
will it affect the oil efficient?
can u advice what to service?are ur car auto?

---------- Post added at 12:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:03 AM ----------

what is 4efi ? 4AFE izit :biggrin:
yes...sry...>.<

chek_corolla

Dec 3, 2003
mine is an auto 4afe too, used to run with 17in wheels and I can get bout 320km for a full tank of 95ron with occasionally heavy right foot.
From what I notice, my 17in did kill the fuel consumption when I changed it from 14in stock. Which currently I am monitoring how is 15in gonna help in my fuel consumption.

Since you said that your engine been thru a good major service with overhaul, I really dont know what can I suggest to you. You will need to provide bit more info before anyone can help you with your question and issue.

How heavy is your car? Got lotsa extra weight like sound system?
Hows your driving style? Pedal to the metal n brake all the time?

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
mine is an auto 4afe too, used to run with 17in wheels and I can get bout 320km for a full tank of 95ron with occasionally heavy right foot.
From what I notice, my 17in did kill the fuel consumption when I changed it from 14in stock. Which currently I am monitoring how is 15in gonna help in my fuel consumption.

Since you said that your engine been thru a good major service with overhaul, I really dont know what can I suggest to you. You will need to provide bit more info before anyone can help you with your question and issue.

How heavy is your car? Got lotsa extra weight like sound system?
Hows your driving style? Pedal to the metal n brake all the time?
actually it depends...if i can keep maintain my rpm around 2000,i can have around 300km with full tank oil petrol which is around 0.21cent per KM...
but normally its hard to control...so im normally at 2500-3000rpm range...
sometimes even higher...
but i wont press hard oil everytime depends on the traffic situation...
or is it mayb of my tyre?its no.55...ori is no.50?
my tyre size is also abit bigger then ori...
but ur car got muffler,means ur car can go further if without muffler...
i dunno wads the problem...aiks...

FGT

May 19, 2007
Cat converter is right after the flexible thingy which looks like a pineapple lol. Middle box is different and I didnt change that because it's still good. If u want to change that, get one with the same size.
Yes, as mentioned before, my muffler is 2-inch s-flow.

Yeah, i think your car's consumption is not that good. I can get 350-400 for city driving and 400-500 for highway driving on a full tank. Have you got it tuned again after using it for a while after the overhaul?

May I know how much did you spend on the top overhaul? Thanks! :)

thanks,means ur advice is to change the air filter also right?
will it consume many oil?because my friend which is wira told me not to change
because he said his car after put air filter uses many petrol...
which type should i change?
More air in and more air out = more combustion = more power = more fuel! In the end, it's your choice really. :)

actually it depends...if i can keep maintain my rpm around 2000,i can have around 300km with full tank oil petrol which is around 0.21cent per KM...
but normally its hard to control...so im normally at 2500-3000rpm range...
sometimes even higher...
but i wont press hard oil everytime depends on the traffic situation...
or is it mayb of my tyre?its no.55...ori is no.50?
my tyre size is also abit bigger then ori...
but ur car got muffler,means ur car can go further if without muffler...
i dunno wads the problem...aiks...
I had the original spec tyres which were 14 inches and changed to 15 inch. I can say that the fuel consumption increase is minimal. The only thing i noticed is better stability at high speed - using 195/55/15. I dont think this is a factor in your FC problem.

Cheers

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
Ooh...tune which part?i mean how to tell the mech?
I 4gt hw much top overhaul...i done it last year n its my dad paying it...
U r from kl right?i gt no idea which to check to solve my problem...opinion pls

Dear all

Anyone had installed the both electronic item especially on (Auto
Waja) ?? Can i know how much the both things can improve our engine
ignition timing and fuel ??? Esspecially for crankshaft, can the setting been
change and what the purpose or benefits of installing SITC ????