mivec 1.8

eterna22

Nov 16, 2003
auckland, NZ
heya guys, need info on d 1.8 mivecs ... i did some searching but to no avail.

basically i know its hybrid engine, just want to know how come you guys use the 1.8 single cam block and not the 1.8 twin cam block ??

how much power increment can u get and how much is the mivec head ? thanks...

wats d compression like ??

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
coz 1.8 sohc engine kosong is very cheap....
so they just dump the haed of n put in mivec head...

xin

Nov 4, 2004
that is not he means Yong..

the hybrid he means is using 1.6 Mivec engine and swap a 1.8 Block into it ..

he is asking y use a 1.8 SOCH block instead a 1.8 DOCH block ?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
tats is wat i'm trying 2 say...

1.8 sohc is of coz cheaper then 1.8 dohc...
bore n stroke r the same...

so they just get sohc block n put back mivec head...

eterna22

Nov 16, 2003
auckland, NZ
same bore and stroke ? same piston size and compression ?

is it same weight as well ? as the twin cam ler...

i'm sure there is a diff rite ? or is there not ?

ecu use mivec or 1.8 ?

most prob use 1.8 ecu and use rsm to activate mivec am i right ? cause mivec ecu wont have the correct mapping for 1.8 engine.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
when u plan 2 rojak..of coz u need 2 be ready wit proper fueling n proper engine management...mayb a vafc should help...

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
mivec ecu is a must if u ask me.....but mivec ecu is alone is not enuff to cater for the mapping n fuelling itself.....most probably u need piggies such as VAFC+ITC or E-manage to find tune bak the fuel n ignition map....besides, u migth need a pair of cam pulleys as well to fine tune bak the cam timing......

xin

Nov 4, 2004
using both DOHC and SOHC block do not makes the difference so it is ok to use SOHC block in stead of DOHC..

using a 1.8 ecu izzit ok ? or can we use the reprogramable ecu's ? lol just curious to knoe..

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
xin said:
using both DOHC and SOHC block do not makes the difference so it is ok to use SOHC block in stead of DOHC..

using a 1.8 ecu izzit ok ? or can we use the reprogramable ecu's ? lol just curious to knoe..
cannot use 1.8 ecu. the fuel map doesnt have mivec crossover point.

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
ermmm there are actually some differences between SOHC n DOHC block.....but both can b used nonetheless......u can still use 1.8 ecu, the engine will still run but not advisable coz there is no fuel map when mivec kicks in 5krpm onwards.....

reprogrammable or stand alone ecu is the best if u haf the cash.....if not, piggies will do job.....

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
Huh?? What babi are you talking abt? kkikikikikiiki! piggies? hehehehe!

Understand that we also can use the normal 1.8 ECU by modifying.. dono wat put relay or whatever. Well, I donno. Its just sum tech-talk that I heard. Best to use MIVEC ECU la I think. OR additional gizmos!

As for compression, shld follow normal 4G93 one lah.. this is what... 10.1:1??? I really am just shooting here... :p

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
erm, its not shiftlight. but it has to do wit the rpm. its like
If rpm = 5k
Then mivec_open
i guess its someway to bypass the normal fuel mapping by basing it on the rpm that the car is on.

Car Wheels Damaged along PLUS Highway,
KOTA Damansara MRT Construction.
On 17th March 2015 at approx. 2am, I was travelling from Penang heading home that is located in Petaling Jaya, along the way I stopped at R&R Sg Buloh, 5 minutes after that I continued my journey, there was some roadworks in the middle of the highway, therefore I had to follow the diversion road onto the other side of the highway, upon exiting the diversion there was some base of the barriers/road divider seems like...