Mitsubishi Airtrek NA/Turbo VS Nissan X-Trail VS Honda CRV

matpitt

Sep 20, 2006
Hello guys,,,:biggrin:

im looking foward to buy SUV. this three model is up in my list, so i need advise from all of u which suv is worth to buy..:hmmmm:
in term of dimension, durability, comfortbility, maintanence, spare parts and most important the fuel consumption...?

pls help my... TQ..TQ:adore::idea:

airtrek turbo.... :adore:

if not maybe u can check out subaru forester

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
I vote for Nissan X-Trail 2.5.

Previously this are the car I intended to buy.
Due to fuel efficiency, part availability, durability & comfort for family user.
But in the end end up something else with high fuel consumption (even slow ride the fuel...Adoi)

Airtrack:
Sporty & turbo model (means high fuel consumption) , old model, probably u are the 3rd owner. Parts, depends (sometimes easy)

CRV: I prefer the old model, much more powerful compare to current model. I don't like it coz I easily bend the fender... coz i lean on it (org gemuk....). Parts little bit expensive coz its Honda but easy to get.

matpitt

Sep 20, 2006
Tq bro Pangyau..:adore:

i heard also xtrail 2.5 very 'kuat minyak' hahahah...
but other than dat is xcellent.. but how bout x-trail 2.0 or Airtrek NA?
got any info for dat two model..:hmmmm:

Tq for sharing..:adore:

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
matpitt,

I choose X-Trail 2.5 due to road & surface condition in my place.
But if you use in Peninsular, 2.0 version already enough for highway & city use.

Airtrek NA also good but parts availability in my place are bad.
Can be any possibilities for future modifying...

As normal formula for me, more power means more fuel...

matpitt

Sep 20, 2006
tq bro pangyau for da info..
really appreciate:biggrin:

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
i would choose crv...the current model crv facelift version has built with 5 speed auto trans unlife the prvious model which is juz 4 speed....so the latest crv is more efficient and has slight better pick up

futher more the crv handles like a sedan,i would say many C segment sedan doesnt handle like CRV

another thing to look out in crv is the intelligent 4 wheel gear box which normally runs on 2 but when it sense the need for more traction,the gearbox automatically locks and transfer power to all four wheel

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I can't comment CRV as I've never driven one before. But I owned an Airtrek Turbo and my bro-in-law owns a X-Trail 2.0. Here are my comments:

If you are a pure family man that wants comfort, good NVH, leisure drive and of cos, high seating, by all means go for X-Trail. It's really a good comfortable family car.

If you are a family man that wants some excitement when you're alone and not worry about the following:
1) 5.5-6.5km/L fuel consumption
2) stiff ride (even on stock suspension cos turbo version is 30mm lower than NA version)
3) slightly higher maintenance
Then you can go for Airtrek. It's faster than most NA SUV below 3L but technology is pretty old. Just good ol 4G63T from E7.

matpitt

Sep 20, 2006
TQ bro stutzedward,

but can u tell me bout fuel consumption for xtrail dat u said ur bro in law drive..
how KM can go per litre.. Parts n power..(coz other said xtrail 2.0 is underpower..)

coz now, in my mind i go for xtrail2.0. but need more help n xplanation from who already drive dat xtrail itself.. xpcialy 2.0

TQ:confused:

I can't comment CRV as I've never driven one before. But I owned an Airtrek Turbo and my bro-in-law owns a X-Trail 2.0. Here are my comments:

If you are a pure family man that wants comfort, good NVH, leisure drive and of cos, high seating, by all means go for X-Trail. It's really a good comfortable family car.

If you are a family man that wants some excitement when you're alone and not worry about the following:
1) 5.5-6.5km/L fuel consumption
2) stiff ride (even on stock suspension cos turbo version is 30mm lower than NA version)
3) slightly higher maintenance
Then you can go for Airtrek. It's faster than most NA SUV below 3L but technology is pretty old. Just good ol 4G63T from E7.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
If I remember accurately, xtrail 2.0 is abt 7-8km/l. Power wise, it's pretty underpowered. Even the 2.5l isn't very responsive to my preference. Parts wise sudn't be a problem cos Tan Chong sud hv em any time.

matpitt

Sep 20, 2006
bro, u drive airtrek turbo rite..
tel me litle bit about dat car.. pro n cons for airtrek turbo & NA..
their power, durability, spareparts, comforbility, fuel consumption etc..
need more money to maintain this car..?
need advise from owner + otai airtrek..:hmmmm::driver:

coz now im on into dat car.. :driver:
bigcar n got power.. not underpower like xtrail..

hope 4ur reply.. TQ:adore:

If I remember accurately, xtrail 2.0 is abt 7-8km/l. Power wise, it's pretty underpowered. Even the 2.5l isn't very responsive to my preference. Parts wise sudn't be a problem cos Tan Chong sud hv em any time.

acapgod7

Sep 20, 2007
i am also need advise for airtrek....can anyone here give an advise?????

teo1957

Nov 12, 2006
i am also need advise for airtrek....can anyone here give an advise?????
1. Airtrek turbo full tank RON 97 is around RM110. So that makes it to have a 50 litre tank probably?
2. Can go to 450km. So that makes it 10.2km/litre for mixed highway and city driving (non-spirited).
3. The above figures for Airtrek with TD05 and FMIC.
4. Problem is, many workshops 'think' they can repair Airtrek. They are wrong.
5. Just because it's a Mitsu that comes with 4G63, doesn't mean it's a Proton FWD.
6. Example 1: AC compressor from Evo, can fit Airtrek? Cannnnn... can bolt on lar. Later fan belt tilted few mm only, and it'll snap.
7. Moral of the story: best to stick with Airtrek parts. ICV, AC compressor, alternator, tensioner. Want to mix and match, better leave to Airtrek specialists, not your friendly-neighbourhood-everything-can workshop.
8. Example 2: Tyre shop so confidently says steering cannot centre anymore, need to change bushing. Later when dismantle, don't know how to put back. Told you: it's not a FWD dammit.
9. Moral of the story: Go to Ah Wah at Sri Kembangan. Airtrek specialist. Ex-Airtrek, Evo owner. Now 350Z. Lotsa 2nd hand parts lying around at his place, easy to try and make sure first before ordering the costly new unit.
10. Last but not least: Airtrek is NOT an Evo. Yes, it has an Evo-based engine. Yes it has 4WD. But one word: bodyroll. Same like any wagon/SUV.

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

Oh yeah one more thing, just so every potential new owners are reminded, when open up Airtrek turbo's fuel flap, there's a sticker saying '95+'.

acapgod7

Sep 20, 2007
1. Airtrek turbo full tank RON 97 is around RM110. So that makes it to have a 50 litre tank probably?
2. Can go to 450km. So that makes it 10.2km/litre for mixed highway and city driving (non-spirited).
3. The above figures for Airtrek with TD05 and FMIC.
4. Problem is, many workshops 'think' they can repair Airtrek. They are wrong.
5. Just because it's a Mitsu that comes with 4G63, doesn't mean it's a Proton FWD.
6. Example 1: AC compressor from Evo, can fit Airtrek? Cannnnn... can bolt on lar. Later fan belt tilted few mm only, and it'll snap.
7. Moral of the story: best to stick with Airtrek parts. ICV, AC compressor, alternator, tensioner. Want to mix and match, better leave to Airtrek specialists, not your friendly-neighbourhood-everything-can workshop.
8. Example 2: Tyre shop so confidently says steering cannot centre anymore, need to change bushing. Later when dismantle, don't know how to put back. Told you: it's not a FWD dammit.
9. Moral of the story: Go to Ah Wah at Sri Kembangan. Airtrek specialist. Ex-Airtrek, Evo owner. Now 350Z. Lotsa 2nd hand parts lying around at his place, easy to try and make sure first before ordering the costly new unit.
10. Last but not least: Airtrek is NOT an Evo. Yes, it has an Evo-based engine. Yes it has 4WD. But one word: bodyroll. Same like any wagon/SUV.

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

Oh yeah one more thing, just so every potential new owners are reminded, when open up Airtrek turbo's fuel flap, there's a sticker saying '95+'.
Thank you very2 much for the info....and now i can change my mind to the other car....hehe....thanks.....really appreciate with your info......

ball bearing turbo give out no white smoke when its spoiled ?

does turbo stop functioning if no oil reaches it?

how come bov's sucking air too? :X-:

any sifu in jb who can help see my car? :mouth_closed:
or recommended shops in jb?

using rhf4 turbo. :emoticon_U:

sorry for the noob Q's :embaressed_smile: :embaressed_smile:

*edit: my car's a total mess and i wants to fix it*