is it possible for waja 1.6m use 1.6a ecu?

WajaRS

May 19, 2005
Yes..its possible..Its impossible for an auto to use a manual ecu but you can do it the other way round..you burned your ecu?

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
er...actually its because i have an auto ecu but my friends manual waja needs it. so i was wondering if can use or not. but the auto box in the waja is controled by the ecu right? so what becomes of it if its plugged into a manual?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
my manual running on auto ECU....same 1 lah...bought the halfcut auto and swap the
gearbox to manual 1...
auto gearbox got its own ecu...

well..mayb mine is the old tech...so dunno bout new 1...

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
ha ha .. ok ok .. but i dunt think something will got burnt but the ecu will show some errors, because it cant detect the auto transmission. In manual cars, ECU dont relate gearbox with ECU, ECU just detects the engine rev instructions.

your car may become "kelam-kabut" .. why dont try swap with Mitsubishi Lancer Cedia or Lancer MX code CK2A ECU Manual Gearbox ECU's ?

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
erm..cuz i already have the auto ecu. so no need to look for others if its compatible. anyways, my question has been answered. thanks ppl!

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
nope..actually for auto theres 2 ecu...1 is for the gearbox...the other is for the engine..

so if just use the engine 1 wont be a prob...

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
craps. now i have to ask another question. i have one is a black colored plastic covered box. that ecu is for the engine or the gear box??

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
shitttttt.. i just gave back my friends bluetooth so i cant transfer files from my hp to pc. its basically covered in black with sockets at the front. there is mitsubishi sticher there and bar code wit the numbers MR507879. dunno if it means anything. ill try to get back my bluetooth and snap a photo. thanks again

edit: how to differentiate between the 2? any physical differences or number?

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
your MR507879 is gearing ECU. Basically gearbox ECU if u have, it will be much more smaller size than Engine ECU :)

Below is one of the older version of Waja 1.8 ECU from SAGEM:

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
There are 2 ECUs in an auto car.

Engine ECU and Auto Gearbox ECU.

You may swap the engine ECU from a manual to auto but if you plan to use the AUto gearbox, you definately need the Auto gearbox ECU.

For example, alot of people change from AUto to Manual or Manual to auto, engine ECU is not swapped.