how to convert 12V to 3V for LED light in car !

kruger

Feb 16, 2005
A.Setar
limandy said:
All Sifu,

Can teach me how to do.
i tought this topic has already been discussed. try search it lar... :) btw if you put 1k resistor is enough already at your led...

kage2099

May 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
guys... the 1K Ohm resistor got many many different watts... got 1/2W, 1W...........etc... last time i wana put LED on my VS i ask the electronic shop for 1K resistor and they asked me wat watt u wan... i duno wat to answer...

so... sifoo sifoo sekalian... which watt is ideal to be used lehh??

jswong

Dec 30, 2004
Wa lau eh! Put 1k resistor is good enough? Hmmm.. so that means the resistor will soak up all the rest of the voltage? (3 volts for LED, 9 volts for resistor).

I think we can also make a 5-volt regulator using a single 7805 IC.. safer that way. Besides, direct 12 volt in car wiring can run high currents also.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
like that not really cost effective...some more add up complexity...being using 1k resister on my LED in VS so long already ...now still as bright as ever.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
jswong,
no prob lar dude... dun worry... LED taking very little current onli.. therefore the current that pass tru de resistor also very little.... go n learn more about basic electronics then u know y...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
if u wan regulator...
got one for 3.3v also..
but forgot what code...
something like 7829 or something

lcchong

May 18, 2009
jswong,
no prob lar dude... dun worry... LED taking very little current onli.. therefore the current that pass tru de resistor also very little.... go n learn more about basic electronics then u know y...
the resistor will heat up or not? :confused:

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
wow... such an old thread
anyway, since that time (4 years ago) until now
there is a better solution

using LM317 regulator
(the sample circuit is inside the data sheet)

u can limit the current for the LED (normal one, 20mA is more than enough, i have high power LED running at 300mA which is very hungry beast)
or , can limit the voltage (e.g. 3v for normal LED)

and best thing about LM317 is u just set the limit
no matter the input voltage goes until how much (but there is a limit, i think 37volt)
the limit u set will be the same

lcchong

May 18, 2009
instead of the LM317, can we connect 4 pcs of LED (3v) in series?

----(+)LED(-)--(+)LED(-)--(+)LED(-)--(+)LED(-)---(+)LED(-)----

:confused::confused::confused: then can directly connect to car (+) power????

Bump: find the suitable resistor for your LED...........

using this online calculator.....! :rofl:

http://metku.net/index.html?sect=view&n=1&path=mods/ledcalc/index_eng

http://www.theledlight.com/ledcircuits.html

Bump: find the suitable resistor for your LED...........

using this online calculator.....! :rofl:

http://metku.net/index.html?sect=view&n=1&path=mods/ledcalc/index_eng

http://www.theledlight.com/ledcircuits.html

its sad to say that....most of the parts on persona is brought forward from a gen2
theres not much difference on the interiors and exteriors when u compared it to a gen2......they are so desperate to hold on to their market........