Helping a buddy creating a show-car finish

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Hello friends! :wavey:

Kavin, my buddy, wanted to have a glimpse of a show-car finish on his modified Toyota EE100. He’s addicted to cars, road trips and started to like detailing too. He wanted to experience the joy of a DIY paint correction. He called me and we planned to do it during the school holidays as I would be free but every time the same got postponed. We finally tackled the bonnet on his very nice ride before school resumption. It was invaded by orange peel and common defects found on daily drivers. We had to restore the same to a slick, deep reflective finish.

Letting the pics speak

Initial state of the paint:

orange peel, uneven surface, hiding so many defects :bawling:

Close-up

Orange peel, scratches, blurred, lack of depth :bawling:

Another view

Extreme close-up of defects and orange peel

Orange peel and scratches, not so visible but there are plenty.

RIDS

Extreme close-up to capture orange peel, uneven paint, there's no proper distinction of image,

Deep scratch

Tools & products
  • ONR for wash
  • Uber clay
  • Mirka sandpaper 2000 n 2500 grit
  • Makita rotary & Flex DA
  • Menzerna: PG s34A, 203s, PO85rd, Powerlock
  • Pads: LC wool, orange, white and black

Prepping the surface after claying

Nothing as sweet as caring for your own beauty, ask Kavin, he's focussed 210%.

Removing the years of defects, first step in creating in creating a deep shine

Test section completed

will be refined in the later stages

Compounding in progress

A more or less 50/50

Putting a little and a lot of passion behind the pads: owner in action

Paint has been burnished to a mirror shine on the driver's side. See the reflection.

Testing with the led lenser.... finding myself

PEEK-A-BOO :confused:

we're waiting for the sun but it is hiding behind the clouds

In the wait for the sun, Kavin enjoying the transformation :love:

PEEK-A-BOO episode continues…. Still waiting for the sun

A deep reflective shine

Pictures are worth 1000 words

Bonnet is ready for a show

We are not looking at the sky, but at the bonnet, waiting for the sun

Beading

X-treme close-up

Kavin needs some spot paint repairs to be done on some localized areas of his ride. Thereafter, we’ll try to work out the entire car, little by little, as and when both of us as free. :driver:

Thanks for reading, your thoughts and comments are most welcome.

Cheers :wavey:

Zaid

Hi to all..

confuse here:hmmmm:..can anyone help me..my mechanic dun know how to connect the item in pict cause he forget after dismantle it from halfcut..my halfcut 1JZ Gt jza 70 supra..

top pipe go to where?and bottom pipe go to where..

thanks...