[HELP]Exhaust Control Valve

terrycmt85

Feb 3, 2009
Do anyone know where to buy and which brand is more reliable? :confused:Thanks. I'm newbie in car modification.

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
was told electronic ones tend to jammed after some time....
not too sure bout it as never use electronic ones b4....
was using a throttle body to mod into the exhaust piping....
not much prob...even sometimes a bit jammed up just spray some WD40 n it worked fine after dat...

zac

Feb 7, 2007
And how's the performance? useful? loud sound generated after valve open? where you did the modification?

joe_mirage

May 7, 2006
rotationperminute.blogspot.com
wow ... calvin teach me how to do la .. now very scare to go out. my muffler too loud =p

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
did mine at K-power @ Mutiara Rini (JB)....
when open the throttle body, sound like those track car lo...
straight out from piping ma....
performance wise, can feel engine rev lighter....

cant really remember the price edi.....
should b around RM600-RM700 for the workmanship n throttle body.....
no doubt they charge a bit more expensive than other exhaust shop.....
but they did the piping correctly....
i'll try n upload some pics i took later....

bear in mind that need to put a bullet before the throttle body to create some back pressure for n/a cars.....
was told if n/a cars dun put the bullet, will feel "lembik".....

Bump: here's some pics of how it looks like.....

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Look nice man... is it automatically open at designated rpm or manually open? since we will only use it during hi revving, without bullet will have better flow thus more power right?

Just wanna ask, wastegate open when exhaust gas pressure reach certain point, in that case, is it possible to install it before muffler like exhaust control valve did?

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
another option is to use lorry exhaust brake... can basically just install turbo actuator so that it only kick open when its 0.5bar.:biggrin:

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
just like a throttle body..if you press the accelarator...the cable will pull the valve open right?

same thing applies...when you wanna open the valve...pull the cable which will be sitting in the vehicle at an easy to reach location so taht you can pull the valve.

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
huakenny: dat is provided they really bend down n look la....
zac: this one is manually open...i did saw before those automatic opening ones dat follow ur rpm...
renxun: not sure bout the possibility, but izzit easy to mod???
ad_eg: thanks for ur explaination....

jinkl

May 22, 2004
wht shocked me is that, isnt tht Throthlebody that u use for ur mod aluminium ? errr i tot aluminium cant be used for exhaust applications ?

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
yeap..
its aluminium...
they fit a flange on the piping n mount the tb onto it....
then cover up all the holes to prevent from air leaking out when the tb is closed....
so far so good...

was using it for around 3mths without probs....
except for the tb cant close fully after track day, prob solved with some WD40....
then sold the whole piping to my fren, he's using it happily till today (which is almost 5mths edi)....

i hav few frens who had this mod also....
they've been using for more than a year or so....
also without probs....

hi fellow DIY-ers, saw this on youtube
[youtube]l5GcKy0rv50[/youtube]

any idea where to find such spray paints in Msia ? tried ace hardware with no luck :(