GSM / GPS Security Products

mikelsc

May 27, 2007
I was at another forum just now before I joined this one. There were probably just as many people frustrated with lost cars and wanting better security systems there. As such, I would just like to produce what I wrote there. I am a newbie to these forums and it was abit unnerving to see so many people loosing their cars. Here is what I wrote there. :shocked:

I have been just catching up on the reading about vehicle security in this forum since I just joined it. I know how trummatic it can be to find your car gone after you nipped into the shop for a while. Mine, to be precise my mother's car which I drove, was gone in 5 minutes after I left it in section 14 PJ. This happened some years ago but the trumma never leaves you. You feel stressed and paniky whenever you are not able to locate your vehicle in a car park from then on. As such, I am terrified with huge underground carparks like KLCC and Mid Valley. At least one guy found his steering wheel and steering lock in the carpark at subang parade after the theif left with the car. I found nothing and Mr. Bean should be terrified with this kind of thief. Wonder what he would do .. maybe remove his 4 wheels when he parks i guess.

I have been reading up on GSM/GPS products in the market. All GPS products have a major problem, and that is, you cannot locate the car when it is indoors, like an underground car park. This is because GPS signals are very weak. Therefore most security products that uses GPS needs to deal with this problem if it is to be effective. The problem is most of them dont and as a result, you will not be able to locate your vehicle if you are not quick enough to notice that it is gone.

Most GSM/GPS products are ran by call centers that will monitor and some even recover your vehicles for you but dont count on a 100% success.