Experience on TRD shock absorber(blue)/User review

tHrottle power

Aug 29, 2008
Dear all toyotarians,

Currently, i m driving a JDM AE111 GT. I m thinking of buying a new sets of TRD shock absorber. I would like to check ya all, is any of ya using TRD shock absorber???I would wan to know the ride quality of the car, and how long will it last till the new change??

1. is it a short stroke type or normal?
2. is the absorber stiff?(bouncing up n down)
3. currently, i m using aftermarket sport spring(little lower in front n back)

so, ur valuable experience would help alot.

thank u...

boode

Jul 11, 2006
i think this issue had been discuss many time b4...
plz browse through the thread...
but will try to help you out..
- im nt sure if new set is available...n if new it will cost a bit high i tink....
- im not sure u mean adjustable absorber or normal one..
- if adjustable gt two type,short stroke (i think the short stroke mostly for ae92 model) and long stroke (mosly for ae101 and a111)
- all trd model are stiff...currently im using ae101 long stroke type...but rarely have passenger so i dont mind 8 this moment...but nw loking for tein flex or ss...
- lasting? mmm...i think its depand on the road u usd or the way u drive ur car...

lastly...its depand on ur budget...if u r poket tebal and its ok for u tink...if not ...lowerd spring will be ok...:)

-regards-

tHrottle power

Aug 29, 2008
thanks boode,

1st, i ve check around.....i cant find the tread so i ve started a new 1.
2nd, i m refering to shock absorber(not adjustable)
3rd, buying is definitely put on the table as 2nd hand is like russian roulotte....u never know the quality

EG9

Subang Jaya
Go ahead & get the TRD shock. it's durable and the ride quality is great. I'm using it on AE86. fornt n back TRD shock (short stroke), it mean for track but the ride quality still very good on the street. it's depend on what spring that you match with the absorber.

tHrottle power

Aug 29, 2008
EG9,

Thanks for the reply, may i know wat is the spring rate that ur using???

km_chew

Aug 10, 2004
Go ahead & get the TRD shock. it's durable and the ride quality is great. I'm using it on AE86. fornt n back TRD shock (short stroke), it mean for track but the ride quality still very good on the street. it's depend on what spring that you match with the absorber.
Your car roll a lot

Hi everybody.

i just change the steering wheel to a sporty one (12 inch size) yesterday.

the result, feel heavy when turning....like no power steering lah.....

what happen actually? the steering wheel is light, is this cause the heaviness?

what can i do to solve these beside changing back to stock steering?

One more thing, need to put grease or not on the bosskit?