Evo 8 MR VS Evo 8 - different between engine (internal parts)

BDK8671

Nov 14, 2007
Hi All Sifu ....

hope your all can comment what the different between Evo 8 MR engine (internal ) VS Evo 8 engine?

beside for the ball-bearing turbo, Cam shaft .

izzit Piston they using the same ? ....

Thanks for comment ....

BDK8671

Nov 14, 2007
I tot only the roof is aluminum .... rear bonet as well ?

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
IINM the camshaft profile is slightly different and there is minor variation in turbocharger
Other than that there are no difference
And oh yes,stock EVO Turbocharger never did come with Ball Bearing
EVO Hood/Trunk is always made from aluminum(CT9A anyway)
Aluminum roof only on CT9A after EVO VIII MR and no sunroof

jameswwt

Mar 7, 2008
IINM the camshaft profile is slightly different and there is minor variation in turbocharger
Well said...:driver:

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
Evo8 rear trunk is not aluminium, it is damn heavy metal. don't believe? take out yours and see.

but i m not sure about Evo8mr rear trunk.

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
aycy, mine is Evo8MR. ss it is aluminium ? i never take out, i am not sure.

karl_razlie

Apr 25, 2005
Puchong
the different MR version wth others ver 8 they came with a revised limited-slip front differential, aluminum MR shift knob, handbrake with carbon fiber handle, 17 inch BBS wheels, aluminum roof, and a 6-speed manual gearbox. The new Evolution also sported chrome housing tail lights and head lights.MR also uses slick-response Bilstein shocks for improved handling. Detail improvements have also been made to Mitsubishi’s own electronic four-wheel drive, to the ACD 5 + Super AYC 6 traction control, and to the Sports ABS systems.

seperlinky

Evo 8 rear trunk is not alu, only the front bonnet. Try with magnet

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
the different MR version wth others ver 8 they came with a revised limited-slip front differential, aluminum MR shift knob, handbrake with carbon fiber handle, 17 inch BBS wheels, aluminum roof, and a 6-speed manual gearbox. The new Evolution also sported chrome housing tail lights and head lights.MR also uses slick-response Bilstein shocks for improved handling. Detail improvements have also been made to Mitsubishi’s own electronic four-wheel drive, to the ACD 5 + Super AYC 6 traction control, and to the Sports ABS systems.
Actually what you said above is more or less applies to USDM Model but not JDM Model
JDM Model 8 vs 8 MR=
1.)Bilstein Shock
2.)Aluminum roof on non sunroof car
3.)Different interior(Alcantara trim for VIII MR,Feux-Carbon Fiber CF Trim on A/C Srip)
4.)BBS Rim
5.)Vetex Generator
6.)Exposed Carbon Fiber Rear Spoiler
7.)Smoked Headlight and Tailight
8.)Slight different on turbo/camshaft/piston as mentioned above

i just changed a whole new set clutch pump for my EVO II. and took the air box from the original piping of EVO II.

Now, when i engage at gear fourth especially,wanna overtake a car, fully step on the pedal and the boost comes up fast, RPM comes up fast enough from 4K to 6K. but i found that my speed cant go up...only if i slightly press on the pedal and slow bring up the speed.

is it because i changed the new clutch pump? or my clutch slips?