Engine Mounting & Evo-6 Cam Set (Repair & Upgrade)

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
that makes sense then... I guess another reason is that, Airtreks are meant to be SUV and not sports sedan like Evo, so that's why they're not putting in all the goodies.

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
this is wer the fun begins for us airtrekers,uprading the parts slowly until the end u have an real evo with auto tranny.extremes will have manual n stroker kit.then life goes on again on another car perhaps...
lol...this forum is full of poison

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Be it Evo 4G63T or Airtrek 4G63T. Once you jump into the 4G63T bandwagon, you can't stop 'upgrading'.. hahaha...

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Wow, you spent so much on your E4 engine already? Or does that include your engine transplant cost as well? What do you have? TD06, 2.2L, Jun Cams, Tatinium Exhaust ... etc .etc .etc?

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
i spend almost 20k from an na to auto tranny evo 4.the remaining upgrade probably manual and 2.2kit.both tis item cost easily 15k.

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
airtrek 4g63 is way very different wit evos.evos are forged internal n higher compression.atr 4g63 is just a normal 2.0l engine.
A stock Airtrek turbo engine is essentially an Evo engine, not the latest version, but it shares a lot of internals from Evo 4 & 5. If not mistaken, it also has the same 8.8:1 compression ratio as Evo 4-9. I guess Mitsubishi realized they had a lot parts laying around in their parts bin, over manufactured, surplus, what to do..... rojak them together & come up with a brand new car using old surplus parts....heheee

FYI, Airtrek turbo uses Evo5 con rod & pistons.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I've read some where before that Airtrek engine is Evo 5 engine. So I guess what I read is right after all.

Kaninbu, you have A LONG WAY more to go la... not finish and cannot finish one. It's not the end yet...

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
almost finish lo from na to turbo trek.major upgrade has been done.not essential upgrade like bearing turbo,bigger intercooler.the most will consider 2.2kit.

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Update :

Okay, fuel consumption improved. After I got the cam installed, I've been driving very agressively (syok ma...). The FC is 6.04km/L. If I drive the same without the cam, it would have been around 5.5km/L.

Refueled and will drive like mormal, see if there'll be improvement. Normal driving should be around 6.3-6.5km/L.

Additionally, I used to run on 1.3 bar ... after the E6 cam, I detuned it to 1.1 bar and yesterday, I lowered it to 0.9 bar. I'm not really racing it, it makes no differnce...
Update:

Okay, on normal driving, I used to get around 6.3-6.5km/L. I just refueled and the number comes to 7.11km/L. That's not a bad improvement at all :)

I'm driving evo 3, using exedy standard clutch and plate, my clutch seems to be giving way now , more slippage, thinking of changing just the clutch to exedy 4puck/3puck racing clutch , and use back the my current clutch plate, as its just 6monthz old, is it ok if I just change the clutch?..tq