DIY Honda ECU Repairs- P30 P08 P27

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Following are some ECU I have repaired. The write up is to assist DIY members with ECU troubles.
Will update everytime a ecu is repaired. Tq

Honda ECU with CEL22....
 
Last edited:

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Change the caps.
Replace broken trace with wire.
 

AD_EG

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

AD_EG

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 5, 2009
6,330
231
1,663
Ipoh
nice DIY bro...thanks...
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
fusionnetx,
Bro if you are not the DIY type, then can-lah send to me lor..

Ad Eg,
Welcome bro...

Will update another write up for tomorrow for P08 ecu with Injector #3 no signal..
Stay tuned.....
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
This was repair last saturday urgently... 17 Oct 2009

Honda ECU P08- No CEL Light. Injector #3 no pulse signal.
Car running like 3 cylinder.
 

Attachments

guangek9

8,000 RPM
Senior Member

guangek9

8,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 7, 2008
8,411
8
1,638
For who got the problem on ur ECU then u can sent it to E-TECH for repair. Some of my customer's ecu had been repaired by him. We also trade in the problem ecu in lower price. Kindly call 0123306630 for more details. Thanks
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
That is good news!
Saved RM500 for a half cut ecu...
Pls shared also mah... pls do a simple write up....
Tq
 

stupiddog

Known Member
Senior Member

stupiddog

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 11, 2006
200
2
1,518
hahaha.. is just same as ur pic ... my QM1 fired.. just go buy the chip and replace it only... hahaha
 

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 6, 2008
76
0
1,506
e-tech & stupiddog must very skill full... my hand shaking + sweating when touch this thing... :itsme:
 

stupiddog

Known Member
Senior Member

stupiddog

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 11, 2006
200
2
1,518
aiyo.. no need skill la.... hahaha just make sure ur soldering the correct stuff...
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
I started from zero.
If want to learn, sure can mah.

Last time ppl say "ECU", I also worry...
But from small rev cut modification--> Chipping--->and now Repairs..
Not that difficult...reminds me of Phua Chu Kang saying.... "use your blain, use your blain"!
 

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 6, 2008
76
0
1,506
hehehe... u motivate me... now i'm going to chip my p08, can u all advice me? :wavey:
 

augustine5677

Junior Member
Senior Member

augustine5677

Junior Member
Senior Member
Mar 5, 2009
9
0
1,501
Sir ,,u got ECU P08 Transistor LM2940T -5.0.
I got can u sale to me..and how much cos my the transistor.
Thank you .
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Slack...
P08 chipping is easy... but need the parts...

You need...1. the 28pin IC socket.
2. the chip
3. Latch ic.... 20 pins
You car wat spec? I see if I have the suitable chip for you and do you have a vafc?
If you need, i can send you the items for a fee... must cover my cost mah...

---------- Post added at 07:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:14 AM ----------

Augustine...
What is the problem with ur ecu?
I can't seem to find that part on the ecu... what is the location on the board?
Q......?

---------- Post added at 07:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:22 AM ----------

August...
Okay... IC12, it is a IC..
Yes i can get it.
How many do you need?
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
slackernel...

Yes need to jumper J1, then the ecu will know you are use "external"vmemory- the chip.
Just use a short pcs of wire.... okay TQ

Augustine,
How many pcs you need?
Rm5/pc + rm0.50 postage + rm1.50 profit= total rm7 to your door step TQ
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Updates....
Another ECU P08 was successfully repaired...
Problem: CEL on and cannot start.
Replaced: IC12...
 

jombiee

500 RPM
Senior Member

jombiee

500 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 7, 2005
950
13
3,018
Ghombau
Bro, I have pr3 ecu with chip, need your advise
I think my chip still refer to the o2 sensor so i need a custom chip, my o2 sensor keep sending CEL & cant resolve it(even with standard ecu)
rpm cut at 8k, no speed cut
ignore o2 sensor. pls pm me the cost &
I will using VAFC as piggyback.
cheers
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
jombiee,

Pls understand that i do not do programming.
So you request I cannot do.

All the chip I have..feels, jun, mugen DO NOT have the o2- disable.
Normally what is disable are the knock sensors and speed limiter.
What you request can be done but that is not the correct solution cause you Fuel consumption will be bad.

What CEL do you get? CEL 1 or 41
If this is the case the correct way is you should be replacing your O2 sensor.

I have a long PR3 ecu and have chipped it, not problems....

Pls fix your o2 sensor. TQ
 

jombiee

500 RPM
Senior Member

jombiee

500 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 7, 2005
950
13
3,018
Ghombau
yeah its CEL 1, change it already, even do a bench test, voltmeter test, everything is fine, even discussed it at Hondatech, still no solution, change ecu also did not solve the problem.

anyway, so you have any chip for pr3 ? could you install the ZIF socket so that we could easily change the chip ?
ZIF Sockets
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
In that case, i would say it is the wires.
Need to trace it from da ecu to O2 sensor.

The p30/p08 chips seem to able to run on the PR3 that I have.
What your engine spec?

Zif socket.... no i do not use those. I just use the normal type of 28pin socket.
You need ZIF sockets only if you always change chip... do you really need those?

Where is your location? TQ
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Hi guys...
Last weekend manage to repair another ecu..P30.
Opening the cover, it was found the big cap C27 had leaked and caused a short, and
burning a sall hole in the pcb...
Better change yours if you drive a civic eg or ek.... TQ

P/s If you appreciate the write up pls ":five:me..
 

Attachments

Last edited:

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member

slackernel

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 6, 2008
76
0
1,506
E-Tech, how about P08, which capacitor or anything else need to replace to avoid any future failure? Thanks...
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
E-Tech, how about P08, which capacitor or anything else need to replace to avoid any future failure? Thanks...
Bro,
P08(single cam vtec) same like P30, as old also.
Cap are same, (same boards design like P30.)
Pls send for service...or pray hard hard... TQ

---------- Post added at 02:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

VERY GOOD LESSON FROM U BRO...E TECH...TQ :nurse:
Peng,

Welcome....
 
Last edited:

donCityZ

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

donCityZ

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 8, 2006
2,230
33
1,648
Bro E-TEch, u should put this up in your upcoming blog... very good info/diy steps.

The ecaps are dreadful components. once the electrolytes evaporated, BANG! it goes. And normally carry out some other parts with them. Real devil, them caps. You also did a good job on repairing the burnt copper tracks.

---------- Post added at 12:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:20 AM ----------

Say, just curious, how much are u charging for repairing them ECUs? If my ECU kong, can i send to u? hehe.. can get discount or not?
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Don...
Thanks...:wavey:

Depend lah...normally RM50~250.. (all parts replaced are new components)
Max is half da price of a ecu...

If your kaput...i will just send directions and components for you to DIY and document it..:biggrin:
 

donCityZ

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

donCityZ

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 8, 2006
2,230
33
1,648
Don...
Thanks...:wavey:

Depend lah...normally RM50~250.. (all parts replaced are new components)
Max is half da price of a ecu...

If your kaput...i will just send directions and components for you to DIY and document it..:biggrin:
hehe.... not bad la.. if max is half the price of ecu... if im lazy to diy, then still can send to u right? :biggrin:
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Don...
Can lah...
Those are night time projects...
 
Jun 1, 2010
2
0
1,501
Kuala Lumpur
hi e-tech..newbie here..

my car (eg 8 soch vtech d15b engine ecu p08) suddenly get jerky at low rpm last week. then my foremen found out that the source of the problem was ecu and he was right because when i opened ecu box, there are a lot of black burning spot. so i bought new 2 nd hand ecu. no more jerky but the car many times drop the gear by itself from D4 to N. i need to slow down and shift back to N and d4 again then the car start moving again. futhermore the aircond not working. after few days, i smell something burned...when i opened the ecu box,,bang bang my new ecu burnt again but not severed like previous ecu. and the jerky episode start again.

so before i take the next step can advice what should i do ??? i suspect my car got problem with wiring. i just replaced the engine last year. thanks.
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Bro... if you can email me some good picture of the inside then i can advise u better...
PM me...

First ecu.... capacitors leak and caused problem.
Second ecu....before use did you check the inside? Just your bad luck that u got a "soon to spoilt" ecu...

Might not be related to wiring... anyway better to check it out also.

So send the ecus for repair and test out again..... TQ
 
Jun 1, 2010
2
0
1,501
Kuala Lumpur
thanks e-tech. i will send the picture to you by email. i hope u can offer me some advice and option. the 1 st ecu got many black spot and one of the connecter pin also burned.
 

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member
Dec 25, 2009
47
1
1,508
Kuala Lumpur
sir I have the same problem, can you help on where to place 220uf 35V caps, I cannot trace where is the positive and negative. my ecu is po8 and p30.

by the way the car starts without the 220uf 35V caps. with cel
 
Last edited:

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
sir I have the same problem, can you help on where to place 220uf 35V caps, I cannot trace where is the positive and negative. my ecu is po8 and p30.

by the way the car starts without the 220uf 35V caps. with cel

Positive is towards the connector side
 

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member
Dec 25, 2009
47
1
1,508
Kuala Lumpur
Positive is towards the connector side
yes, but the copper trace is damage, the positive side of the caps what component is it connected. and also the negative side.

at the solder side of the board, i notice that there is no connection, I am i correct?this is for the P08 jdm ecu.

I have repaired a my p27 ecu based on the attached pics you have on this thread, it really helped. the difference it that the P27 ecu have connection on the solder side of the board so i just jumper it.

I dont see it on the P08 ecu so I need to trace it on the component side of the board. the problem is im not 100% where the terminals of the caps leads to. i just have a 80W soldering iron and a pump. no magnifying device.

if you can help me with the schematic where the caps lead to what components I will be able to make the connection. I would really appreciate it. sorry I do not have pics of the board.

all the best!!!
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
yes, but the copper trace is damage, the positive side of the caps what component is it connected. and also the negative side.

at the solder side of the board, i notice that there is no connection, I am i correct?this is for the P08 jdm ecu.

I have repaired a my p27 ecu based on the attached pics you have on this thread, it really helped. the difference it that the P27 ecu have connection on the solder side of the board so i just jumper it.

I dont see it on the P08 ecu so I need to trace it on the component side of the board. the problem is im not 100% where the terminals of the caps leads to. i just have a 80W soldering iron and a pump. no magnifying device.

if you can help me with the schematic where the caps lead to what components I will be able to make the connection. I would really appreciate it. sorry I do not have pics of the board.

all the best!!!

Positive to D5...(the nearest side)
Negative to "ground"...

All (7-8)caps negative is to ground...

Good luck
 

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member

E-Tech

Senior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jun 28, 2005
1,115
256
3,183
Johor
Positive side link to diode on the top side copper.
Bottom side goes no where. (Island copper).

Negative side links to bottom side common ground.

Hope the photo helps....
 

Attachments

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member
Dec 25, 2009
47
1
1,508
Kuala Lumpur
Thank you very much for the clear instruction. I will do this on monday and hope it works. need to go somewhere over the weekend.
 

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member

ryand

Active Member
Senior Member
Dec 25, 2009
47
1
1,508
Kuala Lumpur
hahaha i fixed my po8, i never dreamed it will work fine. no CEL. thank you for the assistance.
however, i have another p27 no burned trace or mark but it would not start.