Dec 18, 2004
hi all..

we sometimes saw those ppl mod
got open pod air filter

then they make like one area, is heat shielded one
so it only suck in cold air...

so how to make the heat seperated area?
what material to use?

cuase my engine bay quite large.. so got space. thinking to do this mod..

anyone can guide me?

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
ya.. i've also seen it. wondering whether its custom made or... ready made? :blink: anyone? :lol:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
well... normally is custom made i think... cos de engine accessories on each engine bay is diff....

u can use aluminium sheets to make... then de edges cover with rubber strips to hide de sharp edges.... u may add a layer of superlon for better heat shielding...

some cheaper DIY method is to use de sun shade.. but it is soft.. u have to find something to hold it in place... B)

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
can go stationery there find those huge thick cardboards.. not those cardboard ppl use for tadika work, those too thin... and DIY.. here is my version...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
woohhhh...sr20det taken out already/...replace back 4G engine :D

With this setting, easier to make lar...but no water proof one worr... :blink:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by WinDz@Apr 17 2005, 22:03
can go stationery there find those huge thick cardboards.. not those cardboard ppl use for tadika work, those too thin... and DIY.. here is my version...

haha... look like a box.. :lol: stationery got sell a type of plastic board.. in de middle got air columns wan... dat also can use.. normally l use it for advertisement boards i think...

de air column in de middle acts as heatproofing... same concept as polystyrene foam. B)

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by WinDz@Apr 17 2005, 22:03
can go stationery there find those huge thick cardboards.. not those cardboard ppl use for tadika work, those too thin...  and DIY..  here is my version...

haha... look like a box.. :lol: stationery got sell a type of plastic board.. in de middle got air columns wan... dat also can use.. normally ppl use it for advertisement boards i think...

de air column in de middle acts as heatproofing... same concept as polystyrene foam. B)

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
yeap yeap .. that is the board that im using lerrr... jaywat, its plastic.. so its waterproof.. ^_^...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
oohhh that one...icic B) ...i got a few pieces stock up in my room.,..last time wanna DIY on something one :lol: :lol:

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
can tahan heat... at least the heat at engine bay.. hahah... then water proof.. flexible.. somemore cheap .. muahahaha .. its a good material

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
No open pod...cannot DIY this :P ...but i will prefer to cut the alunimium sheet to make heat shield lo...should be more durable and not easily koyak :blink:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
yep.. u wan durability. still aluminium is better.. if u can find ppl to make de carbon fibre heatshield lagi good... damn light n damn durable.. but too expensive for normal car usage... :P

if u use de plastic board we mentioned...it will harden over time due to de heat in de engine.... when it gets hard... it will chip like biskut.. :lol: dat normallt takes bout 2-3 years to happen... if got exposed to sun.. very fast will get hard...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Carbon fibre ar...fiber glass also haven't started experiment...wonder how complicated it is if do ourselves.. :rolleyes:

Ok - so here's what I do to wash, polish and wax my car. Ages ago I bought a Zymol starter pack and it came with everything I needed. Zymol and another brand called Swissol are very upmarket waxes and polishes. You may feel they're a bit extreme for your car - and in the great scheme of things - they probably are. But I'm a believer in "you get what you pay for".

It all comes down to how much you love your car, your personal budget and preference. For example - the wax & polish I like...