Daihatsu... the dying breed

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
Hey guys, If halfcut run out of L2, L2s, L5 engine, and Deto, HC engine all extinct like the curent GTti availability.... will there be anymore Daihatsu people ?
10 years down the road, you guys think we all will still be here posting? Or will all buy bigger car and drop Daihatsu already? Or probably the only topic the people talk here for the next 10 years are the K3-VET guys already ?
Heheh, just a thought.

Cherish your Daihatsu, coz you ain't gonna drive it forever :_:

Speaking of which, the latest result for the SSO for the red charade practice run at Batu Kawan doesn't look good. Damn.

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
dammit.i afraid of that day too man.there's not many daihatsu cars coming out.. besides the only obvious one which is the YRV. rite?

munpeng

Apr 9, 2006
Yeah, being a kancil driver I am worried too. Maybe Perodua is 'taking over' Daihatsu? Those cars are the best lar, low FC, great power, no sweat while looking for parking space.

ghostpirate

Jul 31, 2006
shaaikss! really? the only daihatsu production that assamble in m'sia is the pasar malam lori... maybe we need to start to figure out how to fit the engine inside our car! seriously? is this for real... halfcut running out of daihatsu parts?

HealingBox

Dec 24, 2005
Turbo-Charged those pasar malam lori then ...
i think still got few years to get extint la ... L2/L2s,L5 cut alot ...
after that then L7/L9 .... YRV...

munpeng

Apr 9, 2006
Hehe, turbocharged lorries sound quite cool. Imagine one gang of Lorry Turbo taking pictures together, showing their super-big intercoolers, then take video of them racing.... Psst!..... Psst!

Speed Demon

www.freewebs.com
Daihatsu's main focus is not producing performance cars, so it is rare to get performance models from them. Also, for us here in Malaysia, Perodua is another factor. Perodua's main focus is making money, not catering for performance enthusiasts. Even though they use some of Daihatsu's performance engines for the Perodua Rally Cars, they do not really collaborate with Daihatsu Japan on this.

Another thing we need to realise is that Daihatsu concentrates on motorsports mainly in Japan. Daihatsu's motorsports division is called D-Sport. They even sponsor/hosts some events of their own in Japan. Once in awhile they do participate in events in other countries but very few. There was a time discussions were being held with SIC about bringing the K4GP race series to Malaysia and there was even an exhibition event. But it was not publicised a lot and I think discussions have failed.

D-Sports website is here.

Photos (thousand over pics) of the K4GP exhibition race at Sepang is here.

But Daihatsu does still make some performance engines. The latest is the engine in the Boon X4, the KJ-VET. This is a 936cc engine which produces 133ps by default!! It also comes with a water-spray switch for the intercooler and also LSD. Oh and it is 4WD!!!

Not sure when this engine will reach our shores but I'm sure a lot of MyVi owners are waiting with saliva dripping down their chins!!

More info and pics on the X4 is here.

HealingBox

Dec 24, 2005
wow ... 936cc ... 133ps@7,200 rpm ....
awesome ! omg ... the spec is cool...
import one come here better :D ...4WD and LSD

Atok

Apr 25, 2005
hmm.. L7 parts oso hard 2 find nowadays..
bcoz japan ppl dun like the L7 series much, but they loved gino for their classy looks.. just find a K3-ve or K3-veT engine but their spareparts is hard to find oso..
must try another way to put on the engine bay.. maybe a 1.3 proton engine or 1.3 myvi.. sad so sad..

I've recently decided against selling my 1.6XLi. Problem is, and I don't know if you guys face this as well, I think my car is falling apart. Someone knocked me from the back a few months back and my poor baby has never been the same again.

Almost everything is rattling. From the doors, the dashboard, to the seats. EVEN THE FRIGGIN' REAR VIEW MIRROR!

My question is, is there a way for me to get rid of all these noises? Is there a mechanic who specialises in these things? I...