Conversion to Detomaso

maxgil05

Apr 19, 2005
Cheras, KL
Hi every one out there. I'm wondering what daihatsu car i can buy to fix Detomaso engine. Detomaso engine are 1.6 and the aura and espri is 1.0. So jpj only approve 25% of original cc. How to i can fix this engine into aura or espri?
Please help me with this question?

Dougster

Jul 17, 2004
Kay Elle...
members.cardomain.com

Just to answer that question, there is a 1.3 charade G100 available in the 2nd market scene...we got 2 members here using that engine Gavan and Anion... Why dont u opt for a Gtti?
oh yea..and there are also some members here who convevrted their engines with more than a 25% increase... im sure they'll give u more info....

Speed Demon

www.freewebs.com
If you really want to play safe and follow JPJ guidelines, then the only Daihatsu model you can get is the Ascend. But if you get the Ascend, you might as well just change the parts to make it a Deto as the engine is very, very similar.

escortburuk

Feb 15, 2005
Gombak
Hello,

From my experience, nowadays it is virtually impossible to register the 1.6 engine in a 1000cc Aura or Espri :mad: Only cars which registered their engine before 2004 (if not mistaken) is approved. At that time, no prolem in registering engine larger than 25% of the original engine.

If you are still interested in using this engine, buy a 1300cc Aura or an Ascend. Then there will be no problem in registering with JPJ

dave

Sep 2, 2004
bro screw detomaso ..go for 4E ..guaranteed satisfaction....and screw jpj too wakakkakaakak

pearjai

Sep 28, 2004
gtti more faster than Deto..
gtti no problem with high boost(even yrv(k3-vet cannot stand la for factory made la...)
gtti more expensive from deto 3k above la...
gtti cant reach 200hp ma.....
Modify in this order...( uk tuner)

1. Air filter - even a replacement panel filter for the airbox is better than the standard item. BHP over 100
2. Exhaust - mandrel bent. BHP now 110
3. Turbo to downpipe extractor - if your budget allows. BHP now about 115-120
4. Fit a boost gauge and raise boost to safety limit of around 12.5 psi. BHP 130
5. Add a fuel cut defender, raise boost to 14.7 psi. BHP 140-150
6. Fit a Hybrid turbo. 150 BHP
7. New ECU and uprated MAP sensor. 150+ BHP
8. Copper head gasket / ported head. Boost raised to 20 psi. Better fuel pump. 170 BHP
8. Larger throttle body. 185 BHP
9. Lots more ££££'s, bigger fuel injectors and more boost!
10. Congratulations...go join the 200+ BHP club!

At engine power of 135 BHP the power to weight ratio will now be 168 BHP per ton which is almost the same as a standard spec Ford Sierra Cosworth! (172 BHP per ton)

i'm sure Ns drag can do the same thing but not really sure la.....They already mod l2 monster!

I'm alredy have deto...

Dougster

Jul 17, 2004
Kay Elle...
members.cardomain.com

pearjai said:
gtti more faster than Deto..
gtti no problem with high boost(even yrv(k3-vet cannot stand la for factory made la...)
gtti more expensive from deto 3k above la...
gtti cant reach 200hp ma.....
Modify in this order...( uk tuner)

1. Air filter - even a replacement panel filter for the airbox is better than the standard item. BHP over 100
4. Fit a boost gauge and raise boost to safety limit of around 12.5 psi. BHP 130
8. Copper head gasket / ported head. Boost raised to 20 psi. Better fuel pump. 170 BHP

At engine power of 135 BHP the power to weight ratio will now be 168 BHP per ton which is almost the same as a standard spec Ford Sierra Cosworth! (172 BHP per ton)

i'm sure Ns drag can do the same thing but not really sure la.....They already mod l2 monster!

I'm alredy have deto...
Gtti more expensive than Deto by 3000?????? merv...verify this info for me pls....

Aura

Apr 28, 2005
I wonder why (long time ago) whay Espri with CB23 (same like Aura with CB23) doesn't want to convert to GTTi? Are they De Tomaso hardcore fan and won't accept GTTi? Or they need to change mounting on their engine?
Sory to ask cz I still don't know till now..

Yeah..GTTi still the best of all daihatsu Engine..

4E is also best but cannot lawan la cz 4E is 1.3 engine..GTTi 1.0..

QuickShift

Apr 16, 2005
pearjai said:

I'm alredy have deto...
With that much mods, piston boleh tahan-ke?

Aura

Apr 28, 2005
Asking a question if you're not really sure is better than don't know anything but pretend to know everything..

Aura

Apr 28, 2005
Is this correct? I got it from GTTi club UK...

Engine...

Modify in this order...

Source:
http://members.aol.com/Lverrecchia/public_html/mods2.html

The new BMW M3 not very track worthy for you? Not hardcore enough or even fast enough? All that and you’re still adamant to own a BMW as your track pet and refuse to submit to other makers. Well, your loyalty has finally paid off because BMW introduced the M3 Race Edition at the Chicago Auto Show.