Check Engine Light

alvin24

*sigh*

Dunno if it's my bad luck at buying cars... but the check engine light came up today while driving my MR2 =(

I just got the car a few days... prior to this it never came up.

Any idea where can I get it scanned? Need the diagnostic machine to look it up right?

graham_flag

Feb 13, 2009
1. got engine oil light, due to kaput alternator
2. got engine bay light, due to super weak battery
3. got every lights up, driving high speed over a small hill; theoretically fluids came less weight due to centrifugal force

alvin24

Basically I gunned the car up to 140km/h on KESAS and had this came up:

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
O2 sensor again?????:stupid:

alvin24

No idea... and to make matters worse... I drove it again, and the check engine light never came up anymore even if I gun it.... -__-"

However... my aircond not cold adi after that day when the check engine light came up. I believe the compressor KOed.

WTF man, seriously.

EDDYSW20

Oct 16, 2009
Negeri Sembilan
Compressor sudah jalan? Hemmm, don't think it has anything to do with the Check Engine Light..... unless exhaust overheat and burnt the compressor in the run. Compressors arse is sitted right next to the exhaust B pipe..... mine died due to that..... anyway, aircond? I highly recommend a guy in nilai town, he had an MR2 when it first came out, and has been fixin airconds forever. Very knowledgable and does a quick job on my MR2 aircond..... but after what he's gone through with my car, not sure if he'd want to change another MR2s compressor again!! hahaha

alvin24

ah see... actually found out compressor didn't kong... there was an aircond leak that was fixed. Until today the check engine light still never come on -__-" Let's hope it stays that way forever... haha.

Nilai a bit the far though... I'm from KL mar.

Also realized the power steering relay on/off will jam. Have to knock knock a bit and restart ignition baru boleh. Everyone else also experiencing the same problem?

EDDYSW20

Oct 16, 2009
Negeri Sembilan
Power Steering relay eh? I think it happens from time to time, but KL road should not have that problem what..... all the potholes and manholes should make sure the relay 'vibratezz' daily! hahaha

alvin24

Power Steering relay eh? I think it happens from time to time, but KL road should not have that problem what..... all the potholes and manholes should make sure the relay 'vibratezz' daily! hahaha
WAHAHAHHA... true also! LoLz... summore my car damn stiff, dunno issit the aftermarket suspensions that are like that... or all MR2 also memang got really stiff suspensions?

EDDYSW20

Oct 16, 2009
Negeri Sembilan
The standard setup does feel a little stiff, but it still damps pretty well over bigger speed bumps or uneven roads. I believe our lovely MR2 doesn't really damp well over the small potholes, broken tar and crappy road. Thats the price to pay for wanting to take quick corners.....

mrtwo

Sep 22, 2010
experiencing the same situation ...but mine not compresor or what not..its just that my 2 start starting fridayy to sunday only..can battery weak will lead to check engine light? (graham flag) but my t2 can start ..