Changing My Original Rims - Need Advise Please

ashivadas

Apr 4, 2005
Guys,

I am planning to change the rims on my altezza. Have a couple of questions:
1) In terms of the width of the rims, i am planning to get 8 for the front and 9 for the rear. Is this advisable? For those who have done so, can you share any experience? Or is it better to stick to 8 all around?
2) Planning to get a set of 18inch rims - is this ok? i am sure my ride will be less comfortable, but how much less? Will i need to change my absorbers?
3) Is it worthwhile trading in my original rims? or should i keep them?

Any feedback is much appreciated...thanks!

stepwyew

Feb 10, 2006
I dont think i can give u any advice.....my is riding on 17" with the front is 7.5" and rear is 8.5" offset 40mm.....if u need to know more can join us TT every friday in TTDI Shell station

Cheers

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
What time does the TT normally starts?

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
Oh, by the way, how much does the Advan Model 5 18" costs?

stepwyew

Feb 10, 2006
10 pm ...waiting point in shell TTDI ...... Dont know tomorrow got or not :)

hansc

KL/WP
i'll be there tonite......hehehe....... cant wait to meet up with other owners to check out the rides...

JayDM

Mar 2, 2006
Ashivadas, to answer ur questions:-

I am planning to change the rims on my altezza. Have a couple of questions:
1) In terms of the width of the rims, i am planning to get 8 for the front and 9 for the rear. Is this advisable? For those who have done so, can you share any experience? Or is it better to stick to 8 all around?
It should be ok to use 8.0inch witdth all round. 9.0 inch might need fender rolling. Not sure if anyone here has done it or not.
2) Planning to get a set of 18inch rims - is this ok? i am sure my ride will be less comfortable, but how much less? Will i need to change my absorbers?
The rule of the thumb is, the less rubber on the road, the harsher the ride. Its always looks, stability VS comfort...a long debated topic, u have to choose. Comfort lies on one's interpretation.But 18s always look cool, no doubt. If u dun change the absorbers+springs (aftermarket ones), the car will look slightly odd. Ugly wheel gaps need to be eliminated...for good!!

3) Is it worthwhile trading in my original rims? or should i keep them?
Keem them

Any feedback is much appreciated...thanks![/QUOTE]

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
senor ...

selling my advan sienna generation II 18 x 7.5 all round + tyres + center cones + lug nuts @ RM2.2k only

previously used on my altezza

contact me at 013 224 2625 if interested

adious amigo

green

Apr 12, 2005
accordingly to some japanese books, recommended sizing for altezza is:

215/45/17 tires on 17"x7" rims for front
235/45/17 tires on 17"x8" rims for rear

recommended to use 17" because u will have better response from unmodded 3s-ge.

modded 3s-ge u can use 19" !!! 265 or 245 up to ur desires lah.

u can also use 18" rims if u wan, but lousier response(depends on individual) but the tires will be pricey for 18" should be around > rm500 per tire.

original rims sizes are 215/45/17 tires on 17"x7" for both front n rear.

just my 2 euro dollars...good luck

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
JayDM said:
That'll be approx. 7.5k new
WTF??? OK. Thanks. Where is it available?

ARSSS

Jul 17, 2006
green said:
accordingly to some japanese books, recommended sizing for altezza is:

original rims sizes are 215/45/17 tires on 17"x7" for both front n rear.

just my 2 euro dollars...good luck
Is it ok to mount 225/45/17 tyres on original 17"x7" rims?

green

Apr 12, 2005
errr....not recommeded. u can, but preferably 225/45/17 tires on 17" x 7.5" rims

ARSSS

Jul 17, 2006
I mounted Bridgestone GIII 215/45/17 tires on standard rims.. the tyre width looks smaller than the rim.. Tht's why i thought of installing 225/45/17 on standard rim..

does anyone knows where can we get the bolt n nuts that connects the two piece type extractor?
and also where can we get the gasket for the two piece extractor? the in between the two pieces?

thanks a lot!!!