stock rims tyre

mokh

Oct 18, 2008
hi all,

the standard tyre size for our stock rims is 215/45/17 right? how about if i put in 225/45/17. if there any much different in handling, looks, etc?

please advice..:hmmmm:

green

Apr 12, 2005
of course with wider footprints you will get better road surface contact n ..thus handling.

however, there will probably be minor higher fuel consumption...dunno how much

plus, since the tires are wider on the stock oem rims...the stock oem rims are 17" x 7j in width. the tires side walls will jut out a bit.

btw for the uninitiated...7j means the rims are 7 inches in width 8j = 8 inches width

i would say go for it coz the tires 215 or 225 pricing would not be too much of a difference..unless one cant afford to pay that little extra

1JZtezza

Sep 26, 2008
hi all,

the standard tyre size for our stock rims is 215/45/17 right? how about if i put in 225/45/17. if there any much different in handling, looks, etc?

please advice..:hmmmm:
Go do a google and search for a "tyre bible"....then you can get optimum fitting for your rims.
Irrespective of what tyre you use dont forget your suspension,alignment toe and camber.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
talking about camber, is anybody here running with negative(-) camber ?
if yes, how many minor degrees ?

yaya..., i kno other than neutral (0 degree), tyre wear is compensated in some sense...

mokh

Oct 18, 2008
Go do a google and search for a "tyre bible"....then you can get optimum fitting for your rims.
Irrespective of what tyre you use dont forget your suspension,alignment toe and camber.
:adore:

learned a lot from the site. tqvm.

btw, i cant find altezza stock rims spec. can somebody post it here please

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
dear taiko, correct me if i am wrong,
should be 17 x 7j, offset +50.
7j shud be able to handle width of 215 and 225.

1JZtezza

Sep 26, 2008
dear taiko, correct me if i am wrong,
should be 17 x 7j, offset +50.
7j shud be able to handle width of 215 and 225.
7J means 7 inch width approximate 175mm....yeah you can put 225 or even 235 depending on what series but its not 'optimum'

mokh

Oct 18, 2008
too wide and speedo accuracy will be affected, though marginally

http://www.tiresizecalculator.info/
i think my speedo is <strike>under</strike> over reading. paired it with my GPS before shows -10km different esp on 130km/h and above.

wfhan,
no lah..just learning about tyres. :driver:

//correction.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
<strike>u mean your gps showing higher speed, and your speedo showing lower speed ?

mine is opposite..

for example.</strike> gps show 90km/h, but speedo shows 105km/h....

i'm on 215/45/17 front & rears..

mokh

Oct 18, 2008
ops..sorry. its should be over reading. same like yours.
current tyres setup also same.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
i think altezza speedo is over-rated.
is either you accept the (over-rated)reading or you send for calibration.. ** i donno where to do calibration also...**

ling23

Mar 3, 2008
Hi there, need some advice from all sifu, our Altezza can clear rim size 17' front 8 1/2' off 30, rear 9 1/2' off 40 ?

green

Apr 12, 2005
Hi there, need some advice from all sifu, our Altezza can clear rim size 17' front 8 1/2' off 30, rear 9 1/2' off 40 ?
Hello u wanna put 265 tire behind is it. Crazy

Front max clearance
17"x8j with +38 or +42 this will be inside wheel arches
offset30 with 8 1/2 rim will come out of the fender. Unless u dun mind la

Rear max clearance
17"x9j with +40 or +44 this will be inside as well but u probably rub the inner arches unless they are 'rolled in'
Rear 9 1/2will also come out la.

A little out is fine..too much n u will look like a four wheel drive.

Put in the wheels n see first