changed frm 16 to 17

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
hi bros
i got a ques i wanna ask
i jz chged the rims frm 16 to 17 inches...
ques is now when i wanna turn a corner...the car feels like oversteering...and when i wanna brake...the car will go to one side...y is this happening bro?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
have u checked the tyre pressure? low profile tyres require frequent tyre pressure checking due to possibilities of cracks on tyre sidewalls...

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
I just wanna share my opinion
correct me if I'm wrong

Well, handling will normally categorize by 2
either oversteer(corner in fast) or understeer(corner out improve pick up duration)
Also depends on part or setting...

So do u mine to share what tyres & asb u r using?

U car slide when u brake...
16" above with low profile tyres 205mm will normal flat than the eco tyres...
U can say this is performance tyres attribute
when the road is not flat, this will occur...
Will even worse when wet!!!

drften

Mar 21, 2007
check your allignment and balancing..
check your tyre pressure
check your tyre expiry date
check your lower arm and oso bushing
By the way wut car u driving now?

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
hi bros
i got a ques i wanna ask
i jz chged the rims frm 16 to 17 inches...
ques is now when i wanna turn a corner...the car feels like oversteering...and when i wanna brake...the car will go to one side...y is this happening bro?
when u brake, it go one side usually its yr alignment or yr tires....
yr tires new or used?
yr tires is following the rotation mark? if wrong it will slide to one side too. dangerous

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
all have been done when i fix this rim
alignment balancing camber
bought this rim 2nd hand with thread ard 70% which had more threads compared to my previous tyres
anyway im using 215/45/17 yokohama r1 tyres....running on hotbits adjustables
today i tested with 4 ppl in my car....car was scratching my wheels all the way man!
btw my car is satria gti...and i can see the gap nw between the fender and wheels are ard 1.5 fingers...will it be any help if i raise the adjustables sumore?

Bump: here are some pics
ignore the fake brembos lolx

Bump: here are some pics
ignore the fake brembos lolx

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Ok...dude!!!
I think ur tyres should be 205 width...is it?
Let me share my experience to you!!!
ADrive R1 is a performance tyres...
If i'm not mistaken!!!
This tyres always complain by all the user that alignment out!!!

So the reason is because it very very flat on the tyres surfaces!!!
i think ur chamber has been adj imbalance!!!

U can try which(left or right) cornering is oversteering!!!
Most like i guess will be left!!! Turn left oversteer!! Rig?

Otherwise, check ur hotbits adj coiler height!!!

I may sugeest u to put higher spring rate rather than higher ride height!!!
Very dangerous oh!!! 17" already so high lioa leh!!!

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
im running on 215 currently...but i suppose that the thickness shud be 40 to have clearance btw the fender and wheel...right?
yeap u can say that
every time when i turn left...there is this feeling where the steering will turn left automatically...
higher spring rate meaning i need get get a harder adjustables?i duno but it seems that all the height are not same...some i can put 1.5 finger some 2 fingers...zzz
btw any gti owners here that runs on 17 inch tyres?mind to share ur tyre setup plz
one thing i love is these tyres are really stable...compared to my previous nct5 LOL!

zac

Feb 7, 2007
My frind and i had the same problem... A skillful mech spent an hr to adjusted my alignment which is frequently wrongly done by other impatient mech, and problems gone, my car go staright when braked. Another friend who using W203, also spent an hour and found the root of the problem... Problem lies with the indonesian made 225/40/18 tyres which cost RM220 only... after changed.. no problem...

I'm using 205/50/16 also scratch body... very heartache... last time use D2 racing adjustable and no problem at all, changed to hotbits siler series for comfort and problem started.. : ) need to drive slow when fetch more than 1 people...

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
omg bro zac..at least i still can fetch one person hehe
may i ask wad car r u driving?
im planning to chg to 40 series tyres to clear the fenders...wonder will it help anot?

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Im using wira, and already ketuk the fender area but still kena... very heartache.. : ) but can fetch more people lah, just hv to drive slow like 60km/h so that wont kena when go through uneven area...
My mech suggested me change to 45 tyre, but i still prefer the 50 looking leh... fill up all the space...

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
lolx
for me i tink i need to take 40 series tyres
prefer low profile tyres...haha

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
why not u just fit with with 205?
Of cause 215 will be more stable!

D2 won't scratch ur tyre bcoz the asb is very stiff!!!

I have changed to hankook ventus v12....
This is not a good tyre...
Yokohama still better...
My comment is that, it will only happen on large rim & flat tyres!!!

xinghonh

Aug 25, 2006
ok
i am considering between re001 t1r and neova...any feebacks on these?
where to get them cheap yea?any place 2 recommend?

zac

Feb 7, 2007
i used neova before, grip but noisy, also botak quite fast... its a street performance tyre. After that i changed to kumho ecsta ku31, long lasting, slightly quiet and performance also not bad... personally i will prepfer a comfort tyre like CSC for a daily use vehicle... too bad CSCII dun have 16"...

When my brake pedal is depressed, none of the lights (including 3rd brake light)come on. When I switch on the lights, only one side lights up.

What should I open up to check for faults? :cyclops: