buy lower spring o potong spring

weikhee86

Dec 10, 2005
guys..i want to lower my ride height...shud i buy lowering spring or just cut the original spring..for ur info my shocks are stock...

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
u can cut one ring each spring...then see how it goes...if the ride not comfortable then u can try buy adjustables...

dome zero

Jun 14, 2006
dun cut !! bttr buy new set spring.

coz usually juz cut upper part of spring, the spring will bcome unbalance, it will damage ur absorber, thn u hav2 buy new absorber n spring.

buy new set, n keep ur stock 1, whn sell ur car can change bk ^^

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
cutting ur spring will mess the spring rate.
please dont cut.
get a new set of lowered springs.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
expert say dun cut more than one coil.
actually it is not so 'extremely dangerous' like many said
as long as u know how to calculate your rate

anyway,
even TiTAN expert cut their spring to fit their custom absorber.

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
cutting springs depends also on many other factors.mostly stock springs.stock springs work best with the rate when it came out of the factory.

the actual factors that affect spring rates are the type of steel used,the spring mean diameter,the diameter of the wire,and the number of active coils.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
ya... trully correct.
spring material, diameter, thickness and no. of coils

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
cutting half round or 1 round i dont think affect alot... but still not encouraged....

as long as u have a good absorber to compensate it, i think its ok...

Mrnazmi

Jan 17, 2005
Drag City
Better buy 1 set sport pring..Actually cut the spring is not recommended for any car because when you cut the spring, the cover coil spring cannot fit anymore so your suspension will not stable and everytime your 'jack' your car, your must make sure all the spring that you have cut be in the 'rite' postion before you can put down back your car...Peace.

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
yeah, dun potong~ .. if u conering, ur car bcom not balance, even u use a xpensive shock~ and super not comfortable!!!

and got 1 customer come i work d shop, he said his car conering not stable... when we check, da car conering to left, da left side suspension bcome not steady and many 'tikus sound', bcos of spring kena potong too muc and da spring jus like 'gantung' ~

jimmylim85

Nov 24, 2005
Previously i use potong spring for my kancil, highway speeding was great cause is smooth, but during cornering totally sucks like somehow my car is going to turtle...

So i change to aftermarket APM Lowered Sport Spring for Kancil cars (any comment about this APM spring, are they good?)

Whats the best absorber and how much is it for ride comfort using lowered spring. Im using 165/R60/13 tyres. I wanted my kancil being lowered as i frequent corner at high speed. But road bumps has taken toll. So i'm looking for best absorber to match my driving style.

ary4145

May 31, 2006
Yo jimmylim.. get ur self:

GAB sports absorbers - normal stroke or short stroke depend on ur driving needs... normally the price between this 2 types are about 50bucks difference.. n if u wan better use GAB lowered springs .. u wont regret 1..

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Better buy aftermarket springs. Never ever cut springs unless u have already done yr calculations properly. Otherwise, sayonara!

jimmylim85

Nov 24, 2005
How much is GAB short stroke absorber for front and rear set? Is my APM lowered sport spring sufficient?

greetings all sifu!
im currently using Razo turbo timer but i also have this Apexi Tt but rosak oledi..i dunno wat happened to it...do u think it can be fix??..thx