BMW e30 engine switching

zharif syahir

Dec 31, 2012
hey guys! need help!

ive one (1) BMW e30 318i now is stock engine but now i would liked to change me engine within SR20 dett or RB20.

what is your recommended/opion?

which is better for my car body?

which engine is good for car modification in future?

help me yaw! thank you

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
choose SR if u want a bit low maintenance. 4 potters. less engine oil. timing chain.
RB is a bit high due to it is belt driven, and 4 liters of engine oil ain't enough.

both engine should be ok on your engine bay (provided that your body is in very good condition since E30s are very2 prone to rust.)

both engine are quite good for modification, but i reckon the SR has more. more here is being defined as the easiness to sought perf. parts locally. (off course there's an abundance of parts overseas though)
good luck for finding RB26 halfcut. and if u find one, u gonna search for a GB also.
RB gb aint cheap once u broke it. and if I'm not mistaken..RB gb is not that tough. (except the 4w RB26 gb)
SR's oil pump is not that good. prone to be weak.(except for the S15 and distributor type SR...the FF one)
just have to be sure that it works well.

so all in all i recommend u to opt for SR. get an S14 since it uses T28 ball bearing AR60 compressor housing and has the VTC. if u can get the S15..why not, but the price is not cheap. S13 also okla...but the stock turbo for me is not enough, its a T25 journal bearing with AR80 compressor housing

Feb 10, 2005
there's a few rb26 halfcut in mudah, i think u can use rb25 gearbox

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
Okay...let say u manage to source one..It ain't easy as that bro. 26 dett are not like any other RBs. Be it from BNR32 BCNR33 or any chassis, and this is E30 chassis some more

zharif syahir

Dec 31, 2012
in term of sound im sure that rb20 is very nice. but, if rb26 quite expensive but more power. sr20 its not that powerful as both rite? what about a engine mounting ? should i mod the engine mounting?

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
26 is on another league la dude. look at the cubic capacity itself. u cant compare it to a 2 litre engine

ken yeang

Why not use ori engine? The engine is bullet proof, according to some BMW enthusiasts.

kacuk-kacuk jap engine & conti-car body "devalue" the car.
SR engine and nissan car is ok, but jap engine and conti car body is a bit too much, for me that is.

Anyway, your money, your car, your decision at the end.

Dear all sifus,

is the Petrol injector cleaner really useful to old car? any review from sifus?

is it recommend to use on 9 yrs car?

many thanks :)