4g63 with furl ron95

chubbyboyz

Apr 23, 2009
happy new year to all of u guyz:itsme::itsme:
some stupid question to ask, plz feel free to answer...

1. wat the different between ron97 n ron95?

2. wat will happen if evo engine long time runing with ron95?

3. y ron97 is much better for turbo engine??

thank you

chocolatesttarfish

May 13, 2007
PJ/BTU
i hv a friend who drives dc5 though..not an evo..his knocking sensor felt off from the engine..
after did some csi investigations..he remembered filled his tank with ron95..hence the knocking effect to the engine..

DewA_LavaU

Jan 11, 2004
Bintulu
if u insist using using ron95 I suggest regular fill-up with octane booster :) much more better go for PS Powersport Meth Setup :) :) :) yummmmmm (ini adalah poison~)

chubbyboyz

Apr 23, 2009
if i still keep using ron95, got any idea for avoid knocking??
install fuel regulator will help?:confused:

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:17 PM ----------

if u insist using using ron95 I suggest regular fill-up with octane booster :) much more better go for PS Powersport Meth Setup :) :) :) yummmmmm (ini adalah poison~)
datuk dewa, wat is octane booster??

DewA_LavaU

Jan 11, 2004
Bintulu
octane booster help to reduce and eliminate knocking and pinging due to usage of lower RON.

click at link below to understand better about octane rating.

Octane rating - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

u can get this octane booster product at any performance shop sunway. any brand will do just fine for example HKS Pennzoil Sunoco etc plenty out there :)

if u willing to invest more I suggest u go for Meth Setup :) berbaloi baloi~ (ini adalah racun) heeeeee~

bb1-man

Mar 29, 2005
although impractical to fill in octane booster everytime we fill up, i always carry a spare booster just in case cannot fine a ron97 pump, wherever i am at the time....

DewA_LavaU

Jan 11, 2004
Bintulu
I mean not every filling (ofcoz kopak bai) :P after 2-3 times full tank follow-up with one fill of octane booster. mine using LuxLube product so far ok gak laa (tak mampu beli HKS) :(

man u using which product?

DewA_LavaU

Jan 11, 2004
Bintulu
hi kienhou :) dis is because our Evo in malaysia is JDM spec so the minimum spec must use Ron97 :) unlike USDM Evo they still can enjoy lower grade Ron (93 I guess, correct me if I'm wrong) but most of US Evo owner using Meth setup if they wanna use lower Ron Spec (89 or 91)

Jan 1, 2010
Oic...
thnx for the info.. bro dewa
haiz.. now days
price of everythings gone up
every 1 trying to save money ...
but sum driver dunno ron 95 harmful to engine....
n pumped n cause mani problem... cause a lot money to repair...
haiz... hope goverment can settle economy problem
if nt every owner of car will b crying
kaka~~~

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
for evo pls use ron97.. DO NOT USE RON95.. like advise above always have 1 or 2 bottles of octane booster in your car just incase of emergency that you cant find ron97. always pour the octane booster first on an empty tank then fill it up.. not the other way round..

happy fueling!!

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
for evo pls use ron97.. DO NOT USE RON95.. like advise above always have 1 or 2 bottles of octane booster in your car just incase of emergency that you cant find ron97. always pour the octane booster first on an empty tank then fill it up.. not the other way round..

happy fueling!!
hi leslie & guys

could you help me where to find the octane booster? brand?
i need the item for an emergency... going to travel approximately 1000km (start on Jan 10)
afraid unable to find RON97 in remote area...

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
I heard many ppl complaining about RON95 giving them less power, meaning they have to step more on the pedal to accelerate. Therefore, I would prefer to stick to RON 97 instead.

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
pangyau,
you can get octane booster in many places..eg: eneos or any car spare part centre.

yeehau86,
ron95 is not mend for power. but for a normal car eg: proton.. ron95 is ok to use in city driving..

cheers!

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
hi leslie & guys

could you help me where to find the octane booster? brand?
i need the item for an emergency... going to travel approximately 1000km (start on Jan 10)
afraid unable to find RON97 in remote area...
hi py...the octane booster actually can easily find in spare part shop...but better go true branded.....i bought that day penzoil is about rm15...:biggrin:

chubbyboyz

Apr 23, 2009
hi py...the octane booster actually can easily find in spare part shop...but better go true branded.....i bought that day penzoil is about rm15...:biggrin:
bro khsim...1 penzoil octane booster for fueling how many litter??

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
bro khsim...1 penzoil octane booster for fueling how many litter??

is about 50 little per bottle....but normally full tank i think 1 bottle also can....:biggrin:

jz now home, saw that my radiator indicator point more than 1/2, it is rarely happen!
wat's wrong????? :blink:

another problem is tat my engine more noise after service, is it due to the lubricant oil??? i jz change 2 a 10W-40 caltex from 15W-50 esso!
during service, i oso changed oil filter & plug.