Persona Owners Thread

thundertops

Nov 30, 2014
i know i m late but it now very useful for me..thanks..
All facts are personal experiences only. Will not be responsible for your own wrong doings.

I just realized this was made sticky. Dunno who, thanks anyway.

BTW, I have some technical news.
This is campro crankshaft defect/problem.
Regardless of modded or stock.

This is BP Chu's Neo. Acanta's.

A comparison.

From what I can gather from Drex in AutoWorld thread.

"It has nothing to do with any lighten pulley as the failure happened on
the flywheel side. The incident involves car with different degree of
modification as well as bone stock engines. I was informed that the
failure, at the moment, is affecting only 2005 batch S4PH engines."

"latest info is that the crankshaft on the new Persona is 1mm thicker than
the previous S4PE/S4PH.

One of the tuner shop in Shah Alam got a problem replacing the crank
pulley to a lightened one because that pulley is made to fit the old
crankshaft size."

Question: CPS Crankshaft of Waja thicker also?
"believably yes but i am not very sure."

And advise from TitanRev, he said MT will have more of this problem because of launches.

Saw this guy in GilaGen2. Crankshaft patah change MIVEC.
Believe is 1.8 Mivec? 8100rpm redline? Walaowehhhh...stimzzz.

My personal experiences so far with IAFM 1.6 Campro.
Campro seems to be less noisier with Bardhal fully syn 5w40, not C60, compared to Lexus 5w40
And most stuffs are manufactured under UMW. Oil filters, Valve Cover...
If you do rev your car to 6500rpm, no matter occasionally or always, most probably your Valve Cover Gasket is gone at 30000km, a.k.a Seal Cam Cover, RM45 only. Silicone gaskets are available but not from Proton.
Silicone sounds good but don't dare to try yet.

Seal Cam Cover (Part number: PW810724)

Oil filters genuine ones if u peel the rubber gasket out, u will see UMW stamp on the rubber gasket.
Blue one RM12.
White one RM8.
Internet seems to say the blue one has more filter in it, as in more layers?
Blue is Service parts, white is replacement parts.

All my hands-on knowledge are from Izso and TitanRev. punk also.
And credits to this Campro DIYer as well.
EilaRazi: DIY - Buka Rocker Cover Head Proton Persona & Tukar Gasket
More detailed questions, Drex Chan is the man.

Rafale

Dec 10, 2006
Selangor KLIA
Got nothing to do these week.
So i try pump windscreen glue inside engine mounting.
:biggrin:
Does it still firmly attached to the metal casing? :top:
I'm going to do the same with my mounts as well but I'll be using aircraft grade sealant with shore 60A hardness.

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan
Does it still firmly attached to the metal casing? :top:
I'm going to do the same with my mounts as well but I'll be using aircraft grade sealant with shore 60A hardness.
hi rafale,

have u do these DIYs?

u need to let it fully dry, if not it gonna come out.
one of the mount i did, the sealant come out a bit.

the disadvantages after i did these DIYs, one of the dashboard screw loose:bawling:. haha

hi rafale,

have u do these DIYs?

u need to let it fully dry, if not it gonna come out.
one of the mount i did, the sealant come out a bit.

the disadvantages after i did these DIYs, one of the dashboard screw loose:bawling:. haha
The air space is to allow for it to move freely. Seal it tight then the vibration will be transmitted to dashboard....:banghead:

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan
any guys here did pedal response.?

saw a few picture on zordaq motorsport.

they take out the pedal unit, but dont know what they did to it.

any idea how to diy?

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
any guys here did pedal response.?

saw a few picture on zordaq motorsport.

they take out the pedal unit, but dont know what they did to it.

any idea how to diy?
Yeah wei. But nowadays, I drive very spiritedly, learnt my style? The pedal response feedback from my other Persona friend is better.

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan
Yeah wei. But nowadays, I drive very spiritedly, learnt my style? The pedal response feedback from my other Persona friend is better.
Refer to uploaded pictures.

i did actually alter the pot in pedal, but the rpm only rise up.

the is another layer on bottom of the pedal i didnt open it up because scared the spring flew up by accident.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Accelerator aka pedal, sprint or throttle booster, it improves the response time but does not add or improve total engine power.

Read more here:
https://www.sprintboostersales.com/whyitworks.cfm
my former office mate whom drives a saga fl boast highly of the pedal response he spent money on.
have to agree with you that it only alter response time.no power gain at all.
it improve driveability and reduces stress as we are driving small engine with so-so low end power.
by we i mean us campro drivers..u drive an engine with a snail attached as a respirator.

imho,with cvt transmission its...weird.
lots of cvt humming but takes time for the rubber band effect to surge u forward.
the rev shoots up for few milisecond before u can feel the push.
that milisecond is very precious to catch up with the awek's myvi which just sped pass us..hahaha.

another friend installed a throttle controller on his 3.2 triton.
i wasnt driving so i dont feel the different.the car accelerate at the same pace.
he just said it took less pedal effort to drive.i just said "xxx(his nickname) ekau punyo enjin kek dopan to tigo point duo turbo,memang x payah tokan pedal dah berdonyut poie eh"

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Updates:
CamPro 1.6 IAFM loud tappet after years of thinner viscosity oil between 5w40 to 10w40.
After consultation with Sid from RPG, he said it wasn't my IAFM (thankfully, its been 4 years++ now), but my lifters are loud, use thicker oil instead.
Immediately, 20W50 sprung to my mind because it is what Proton recommends eventhough Proton SC is not using that weight.
SO fuck it, contacted Fstr to hook it up, got myself some 20W50 of 76 Lubricants. Changed it real quick at home because the noise makes me crazy especially when I Uber now.

First drive didn't make any difference but after sitting for a night, it quite down. Even better after the 2nd night.
I wasn't prepared to fork out RM70 just for one lifter. We have 16 of those.

Timing belt soon... RM330...Another set of ATR Sport this weekend RM185.

Updates:
CamPro 1.6 IAFM loud tappet after years of thinner viscosity oil between 5w40 to 10w40.
After consultation with Sid from RPG, he said it wasn't my IAFM (thankfully, its been 4 years++ now), but my lifters are loud, use thicker oil instead.
Immediately, 20W50 sprung to my mind because it is what Proton recommends eventhough Proton SC is not using that weight.
SO fuck it, contacted Fstr to hook it up, got myself some 20W50 of 76 Lubricants. Changed it real quick at home because the noise makes me crazy especially when I Uber now.

First drive didn't make any difference but after sitting for a night, it quite down. Even better after the 2nd night.
I wasn't prepared to fork out RM70 just for one lifter. We have 16 of those.

Timing belt soon... RM330...Another set of ATR Sport this weekend RM185.
A set of ATR Sports for RM185?:smokin: I also want.....hhahahhaha:rofl:

So the 20w-50 oil did work, same for my hydraulic lifters in the VR, can use 40 to 60 weight oil only, if use 30 really noisy once it warms up....

Guys, know any place where i can do good and cheap wheel alignment and cambering in Ampang?

I hate to go to places where all of a sudden they say cambering is RM60.00 when you can get it for RM45.00.

Thks.