1jz E36 BMW frankensteining

Hmm should get wider rims, at least 8.5jj all round or staggered 8/9jj. Should just use 235/45/17 for all now. 245/40/17 is too small in diameter and sidewall a bit too thin like mine (only 9.8cm sidewall height). If go staggered 8/9jj, then can use 225/45 + 255/40.

What tires are those btw?
wait.. 245/40/17 is smalll?

Damn. And here I was thinking it was too wide. Stock for E36 17" is 235/45/17 apparently.

I want 8.5jj but I also don't want any stretching. Plus tyres get more expensive after 235/45 la.

Rears are currently AD08R and front are the ones I really want to change out - Achilles ATR Sport. Too noisy la this combi.

wait.. 245/40/17 is smalll?

Damn. And here I was thinking it was too wide. Stock for E36 17" is 235/45/17 apparently.

I want 8.5jj but I also don't want any stretching. Plus tyres get more expensive after 235/45 la.

Rears are currently AD08R and front are the ones I really want to change out - Achilles ATR Sport. Too noisy la this combi.
245/40 and 255/40 will definitely cost much more......lol:biggrin:

Nightstalker1993

Aug 30, 2010
Subang Jaya
Highly admirable :congrats:
I small fry only with small turbo and small car. Exhaust pun senyap saja

Nightstalker was one of the initial people who introduced me to the world of turbo and launch control. In a FWD Waja built by his own hands no less.
Launch control tu apa? No idea what's that worr :flute:

And nola not exactly everything by my own hands. Intercooler pipe, exhaust and those welding stuff all still need workshop do for me. Also, all the heat shield also not done by me huhu

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
Old already. Costs so much more for a quiet exhaust setup than a perang setup. My midbox was like RM600+ and muffler was like rm350, both 3" straight flow.
If 1993 considered old, then I am ancient.

As compared to the muffler which is supposed to be more effective at reducing noise, why pay so much for the midbox? Is it because one is new and the other is used?

Nightstalker1993

Aug 30, 2010
Subang Jaya
If 1993 considered old, then I am ancient.

As compared to the muffler which is supposed to be more effective at reducing noise, why pay so much for the midbox? Is it because one is new and the other is used?
Well, I just got engaged, so yeah kinda feeling old now :rofl:

Yes that's one reason, the muffler is used and the midbox is brand new. And apparently it is extremely hard to find a 3" straight flow big sized 'pillow' midbox, those round small sized tabung are very common though. And in terms of volume, my muffler and midbox is probably almost the same size. the midbox is longer, but slightly narrower than the muffler.

Here's the size of my midbox. That hole there is 3" so you scale it up yourself :biggrin:

Anywaay, deviate edi this thread, supposed to focus on izso's ride :rofl:

Dremel said:
any rough suggestion for proton satria ? i'm not sure whether mine is 6kg(F)-5kg(R) or 5kg(F)-4kg(R).. does there any label of spring rate printed on titan's spring? coz Richard seems doesn't have the record.. coz mine is 2nd hand. The only thing that he said was.. 'wah.. your spring is quite hard'

I assume mine is 6/5 or 5/4 is because i got 2 friend running on 4/3 which are sgti and putra. Theirs is abit softer than mine.. with same damping settings.
Hi

As for...