Want to find L.E.D...

Boeing

May 9, 2005
I've oredi went to 6 shop at Jalan Pasar.. dont have those 12v L.E.D.. only 6v.. I want to replace all those lights on the dashboard with the super bright onee!!..

So, where can I get those L.E.D?? please la help!!.. :shcokedcamo: :shcokedcamo:

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
diy it..use a resistor..

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
hahah.... nice one howie...

in fact, i support howie if u know some electronics knowledge... 12v LED are pretty expensive... u usually can find them in car accessory shops... lelong.com.my also got people selling ma... around rm10 per pair...

if u buy normal LED and diy with resistor, rm10 can get u at least 6 LEDs....

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
and dun forget those 12v led sold in accessories shop are just simply not bright...50 cents led are more brighter than it...

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
yap..
buy those normal 3.5V led is enough.. make sure spec of luminance (in mcd)
is high enough to be bright.. around 1000 ++ should be enuf..

Boeing

May 9, 2005
Not familiar doing on those resistor things.. but if you guys said it will be bright then the 12v then I'll try that 6v...

thanks everybody :shcokedcamo: :shcokedcamo:

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
if u want to use led for ur dash/meter light, make the LED "foggy".
what i mean is, sand the LED to make it "not clear.,foggy"
this will spread the LED light more evenly.

C

chilskater

just wanna ask..i want to tebuk my sideskirt and put like 6 LEDs..when i press brake it will glows..wat type of LED suitable?i need resistor rite?tap the wire from brake light?lastly..sambungan bersiri or selari?..

i am purely idiotic when come to wiring... :)

ken yeang

sambung LED selari....to get equal brigtness.

Having bright lights at the dash/meter is good. but just don't got for something that is too bright (I know, very subjective matter). I see too many examples where ppl installed bright LED at the dash become a nuisance/glaring when driving long distance, long duration. esp at night.

Sakit Mata for the driver, and the Driver looked like Ghost when seen from oustside......JPJ sure takut seeing such bluish face drivers. LOL

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
yup..i wonder y the damn saga are using the blue color...kinda annoying..more annoying than my diy led meter...lolz..

btw, u need to know the voltage and the current draw from the led..like say u use 3x4v led to connect them series, then u need a 100-200ohm resistor for it. if not i m sure ur led last not more than 1 week..suggested resistor are 200ohm-1W

ken yeang

Try sambung a variable resistor also in the circuit. The LED light intensity can be adjusted according to your need. Many exotic/expensive car has adjustable meter panel lighting....

wyx

Oct 24, 2005
make 4 sets of LED circuit like this, parallel 2 sets for each side of your car. This will give what u expect...6 LEDs per side.
*assume that u r using normal white LED and your car is producing avg 13V.

o---R(120ohm@1/4W)---LED---LED---o

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
i've recently DIY my cabin lights using LEDs... 6 of them...
connections are like that....

___|---- LED ---- LED ---- LED ---- (100ohm) ---|____
|---- LED ---- LED ---- LED ---- (100ohm) ---|

wyx

Oct 24, 2005
make it to 12 LEDs lah...I made 12 LEDs with 100ohm series to every 3 LEDs set.
Now thinking of shifting this 12 LEDs to replace my third brake light, and DIY another 4 LEDs set (ultrabright type, 7x costlier than normal LED but brightness is equivalent to almost 7 LEDs, and very much simpler circuit). Now in the process of integrating the delay dimming circuit into one small PCB that can fits well.

Hi guys. I owned perodua kancil 660cc Automatic. But recently i think the fuel consumption is very high. Full tank is 32 litres and after refueling, i reset the odometer. now after half tank is finished (16 litres), the car only travelled for just 100km. and that makes 6.25km/l. and that is very high man. is there any thing that i can do to reduce fuel consumption?