Viking Tyres launched in Malaysia

Then you spend more to convert first......:biggrin:
Ya, i remember u told me is not cheap LOL! But overseas jetta is 5 lugs...really :banghead: UMW malaysia didnt get the same one.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Can, got to spend more to convert the hub. But why do it, as they are many rimes with 4 holes, 5 holes, even now 8 holes and ten holes for both 100 and 114.3 PCD....:biggrin:
Haha, just asking only for now. So that next time if got money to buy rims, don't want simply or blindly buy then only discovered that it doesn't fit.

Ya, i remember u told me is not cheap LOL! But overseas jetta is 5 lugs...really :banghead: UMW malaysia didnt get the same one.
Different market.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:57 PM ----------

VR2 ready to serve. :hahaha:
That day he got ask, but I was outstation. By the time I reply he change already as he was in a hurry. Told most of them don't wait until last minute, then cannot wait, straight change then later regret... :banghead::biggrin:
Even my Tiggo time to change, actually still have thread pattern, but on the look out already what is best choice....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:00 PM ----------

Wa, don't dare to ask him serve lor. Later it looked like I no look him up.
Means bro. SC see me no up?.....:rofl::rofl:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:57 PM ----------

That day he got ask, but I was outstation. By the time I reply he change already as he was in a hurry. Told most of them don't wait until last minute, then cannot wait, straight change then later regret... :banghead::biggrin:
Even my Tiggo time to change, actually still have thread pattern, but on the look out already what is best choice....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:00 PM ----------

Ehhh please. I look u damn high up hahahahaha
Yeah, like me. Reaching about time then I start surveying until my boss recommended ATR Sport.
Btw, how come u nvr intro that one?

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012

I did suggest to change since quite a while ago. But family keep telling me, no need so fast change, just swap front to rear, rear to front then can still use. Then I thought, okay then but I still did a bit of research about tyres where I found out about C-Drive 2.

When last saturday I went to shop to swap tyres, shop say the tyre condition too bad already and say need to change now. Unfortunately that shop don't have any Yokohama. I asked are there any tyres like 195/60/R14 or maybe like 205 for R14 but one worker at there tell me don't have such size for R14. Say largest is 195/70/R14 but he say that will scratch on my fender if I put that. Got such thing? I thought got 195/60 or 195/55 for R14...

Depends on the way you ask ma. hehe!
I usually ask nicely with respect.

Ehhh please. I look u damn high up hahahahaha
Yeah, like me. Reaching about time then I start surveying until my boss recommended ATR Sport.
Btw, how come u nvr intro that one?
Too Many others to test, never reach that......hahahahha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 09:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

I did suggest to change since quite a while ago. But family keep telling me, no need so fast change, just swap front to rear, rear to front then can still use. Then I thought, okay then but I still did a bit of research about tyres where I found out about C-Drive 2.

When last saturday I went to shop to swap tyres, shop say the tyre condition too bad already and say need to change now. Unfortunately that shop don't have any Yokohama. I asked are there any tyres like 195/60/R14 or maybe like 205 for R14 but one worker at there tell me don't have such size for R14. Say largest is 195/70/R14 but he say that will scratch on my fender if I put that. Got such thing? I thought got 195/60 or 195/55 for R14...

195/70R14 and 185/70R14 have. These sizes are for the older Volvo's and larger vehicles.
195/55R14, 195/60R14 used to have but most car manufacturer have upgrade to 15", so more tyres in 15" rather then 14", that is why when asked to recommend, we do mention the option to go up one size...

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Too Many others to test, never reach that......hahahahha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 09:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

195/70R14 and 185/70R14 have. These sizes are for the older Volvo's and larger vehicles.
195/55R14, 195/60R14 used to have but most car manufacturer have upgrade to 15", so more tyres in 15" rather then 14", that is why when asked to recommend, we do mention the option to go up one size...
Sad la like this.. 14 inch don't have much choice... Next time maybe need to look at CE28 15 inch or RPF-1 15 inch already. :banghead:

You may be using 14" but not all 14" tyres can fit. Need to see the overall size. like 195/60/14. If put in kelisa, is just impossible :rofl: Can't even fit.

Kelisa is using 165/55/14. Imagine how much added up size to 195/55/14. Most I can go is 165/50/15. Anymore will scrap fender.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
You may be using 14" but not all 14" tyres can fit. Need to see the overall size. like 195/60/14. If put in kelisa, is just impossible :rofl: Can't even fit.

Kelisa is using 165/55/14. Imagine how much added up size to 195/55/14. Most I can go is 165/50/15. Anymore will scrap fender.
This is weird. How to determine the max size that a rim can handle? :confused:

BTW, what does ZR means? Sometimes in those large rims, can see their tyres got like ZR19 or ZR20. Our normal ones only have R14, R15, R16.

This is weird. How to determine the max size that a rim can handle? :confused:

BTW, what does ZR means? Sometimes in those large rims, can see their tyres got like ZR19 or ZR20. Our normal ones only have R14, R15, R16.
To determine the tyre size the rims can handle is the rims width. The wider the rims the wider the tyres. For eg. 6" rims good for 195 size tyres, 6.5 (205) and 7" (215), but there is always an allowance, means 6" can also fit 185 to 205 size, or like 7" can use 205 or 225 also. Again it depends on the aspect ratio also, how far the allowance can go.

To determine what tyre size the car can fit, then different story. You have to take the car original tyre size and work from there. The wider the tyres the lower the aspect ratio. If change to larger rims eg. from 14" to 15", then you got to reduce the aspect ratio further to compensate for the larger rims, means in laymen you increase the rims height you have to reduce or lower the tyre sidewall.
For eg. from 185/60R14 to 195/50R15 or 195/60R15 to 205/50R16 or 205/45R17.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
ZR is the speed rating

ZR = >270km/h
So those without ZR cant go over 270?

To determine the tyre size the rims can handle is the rims width. The wider the rims the wider the tyres. For eg. 6" rims good for 195 size tyres, 6.5 (205) and 7" (215), but there is always an allowance, means 6" can also fit 185 to 205 size, or like 7" can use 205 or 225 also. Again it depends on the aspect ratio also, how far the allowance can go.

To determine what tyre size the car can fit, then different story. You have to take the car original tyre size and work from there. The wider the tyres the lower the aspect ratio. If change to larger rims eg. from 14" to 15", then you got to reduce the aspect ratio further to compensate for the larger rims, means in laymen you increase the rims height you have to reduce or lower the tyre sidewall.
For eg. from 185/60R14 to 195/50R15 or 195/60R15 to 205/50R16 or 205/45R17.
So, the larger the rims are, usually tyres will be in lower profile to compensate it? And also not to scrub on the fenders I guess?

But yesterday, I saw ZTH fb page posted a crazy tyre of 335 size for ZR19. It was for a RWB built 911. :confused:

So, the larger the rims are, usually tyres will be in lower profile to compensate it? And also not to scrub on the fenders I guess?

But yesterday, I saw ZTH fb page posted a crazy tyre of 335 size for ZR19. It was for a RWB built 911. :confused:
Those cars are built to accommodate those tyre sizes mah!

Oh! I did not answer your ZR question. Quite a long story. Will write in another paragraph....

---------- Post added at 07:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

In older days, vehicles were not that fast so a V rated tyre was the highest at that time and this rating means the tyres are capable of 240km/h only. As vehicles became faster, ZR was introduced as in 205/50ZR16 and this denotes speed of up to 270km/h.

As vehicles became even faster, how far a speed ZR is capable off was not identified, so they added W and Y rating. W means up to 270 km/h and Y up to 300km/h, but the ZR remain to denote over 240km/h, so you have to read the following letter after ZR as in the following:-

205/45ZR17 88W - 270 km/h
285/35ZR19 99Y - 300 km/h

The ZR denotes over 240km/h but after the load range of 88, the W denotes up to 270km/h only.
As in the second example, the Y denotes capable of a max of 300km/h

However the top speed did not end there so a ( ) was added to Y as in the following:-

285/35ZR19 (99Y) - in excess of 300 km/h

I don't have any more info after that, so I am not sure how they mark the Bugatti Veyron tyres as that beast is capable of over 400km/h. Those tyres are special made anyway....:driver:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Those cars are built to accommodate those tyre sizes mah!

Oh! I did not answer your ZR question. Quite a long story. Will write in another paragraph....

---------- Post added at 07:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

In older days, vehicles were not that fast so a V rated tyre was the highest at that time and this rating means the tyres are capable of 240km/h only. As vehicles became faster, ZR was introduced as in 205/50ZR16 and this denotes speed of up to 270km/h.

As vehicles became even faster, how far a speed ZR is capable off was not identified, so they added W and Y rating. W means up to 270 km/h and Y up to 300km/h, but the ZR remain to denote over 240km/h, so you have to read the following letter after ZR as in the following:-

205/45ZR17 88W - 270 km/h

The ZR denotes over 240km/h but after the load range of 88, the W denotes up to 270km/h only.
As in the second example, the Y denotes capable of a max of 300km/h

However the top speed did not end there so a ( ) was added to Y as in the following:-

285/35ZR19 (99Y) - in excess of 300 km/h

I don't have any more info after that, so I am not sure how they mark the Bugatti Veyron tyres as that beast is capable of over 400km/h. Those tyres are special made anyway....:driver:
335 size for 19 inch. That was rare. Even R35 tyres at 20 inch din't exceed 300 size.

Okay, now I start to understand the ZR thing. So it can be summed up as

ZR = Over 240kmh
ZR has 2 types which is W and Y
W = Max at 270kmh
Y = Max at 300kmh

Veyron I heard it is running on run flat tyres which doesn't require air. And can't be taken off using normal methods either.

Don't say Veyron, many supercars also have a rated top speed of over 350kmh already. Like Zonda, Huayra, LaFerrari, P1, 918 Spider.... Don't know what they use though...

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
335 size for 19 inch. That was rare. Even R35 tyres at 20 inch din't exceed 300 size.

Okay, now I start to understand the ZR thing. So it can be summed up as

ZR = Over 240kmh

ZR has 2 types which is W and Y

W = Max at 270kmh

Y = Max at 300kmh

Veyron I heard it is running on run flat tyres which doesn't require air. And can't be taken off using normal methods either.

Don't say Veyron, many supercars also have a rated top speed of over 350kmh already. Like Zonda, Huayra, LaFerrari, P1, 918 Spider.... Don't know what they use though...

I think they use Michelin Super Sport. Koeniegsegg also special made for it by Michelin just like Veyron. If im not wrong.

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
I think they use Michelin Super Sport. Koeniegsegg also special made for it by Michelin just like Veyron. If im not wrong.

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.
So Michelin is like one of those very top tyre manufacturers out there since these company sought tyres from them? Usually Pirelli was often found in supercars. Viking tyres like in this topic, lol no need to say already... :rofl:

BTW, the time you posted your reply was so early in the morning. Din't sleep at all? :biggrin:

With the Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race 2011 taking place this weekend and the outstanding results shown by Petronas Syntium Team in the qualifying round earlier today, it's both interesting and worthwhile to have a closer look at what could possibly be the main reason behind team's success this year - the brand new Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3.

So why exactly would the team make a switch from the already...