very high fuel comsumption for 4g93n.a

keith_njt

Nov 23, 2006
Problems With 4G93 Eterna
Hi to all the sifu out there,
I hope that i could get some help from you guy, I am driving a rojak transplanted 4G93 eterna engine which the transmission had been converted from automatic to manual and are using MMC 6123 ECU.(base is 1.5auto wiring then rojak to plug wit tis ecu )

Here my problem
i just bought my car last month,n i recently found out my fuel comsumption is very very high...i fuel in rm 50 just can go to 100-120km only,is tat resonable for n.a 4g93? plz helf me i'm so scaredto drive tis monster liao,any sifu can me some an idea thanx...

K3nnYkl82

Apr 4, 2005
wah ... RM50 for juz 100-120km ??........that is freaking terrible.,.. donno much about eterna's 4G93... im driving a 4G93 putra...manual.. RM50 can fetch me 300 ~350km ... juz for you info.. hope someone can help you out here.

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Have you check your ECU ? Any error code ?

cksiow

Dec 19, 2003
Whoa.....that really terrible FC over there. Just for you info, my FC is RM40 for approx 230KM (dated : 6/2/07). Moreover, it's an auto tranny with Open-Pod Filter installed. Btw, mine is a converted 1.6XLI Wira to a 4G93 Engine.

Regards,
CK Siow

DarkAccoon

check ur block sensor and gearbox sensor
total sensor to check is 3, 1 in the block and 2 at the gearbox
last time i was having the same problem with my putra as well
RM 80 can take me only 240km
after changing it, no problem anymore

g88

Jan 28, 2004
check ur block sensor and gearbox sensor
total sensor to check is 3, 1 in the block and 2 at the gearbox
last time i was having the same problem with my putra as well
RM 80 can take me only 240km
after changing it, no problem anymore
what your FC now sifu ? What year is your putra ?? Errr...where is the sensor at block and gearbox ?? :regular_smile:

sharkair

Apr 21, 2004
wow, that's almost double man.

probably the problem occur due to faulty Air Flow Sensor or maybe due to messy wiring jobs. Maybe due to several other reasons.

It is good for you to send the car to reputable mechs.

As far as I know, 1.5 wire harness do not have Air Flow sensor wiring. 1.5 engines use MAP sensor.

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Wah, and i thought my FC was bad?? bro the 120km u tekan habis habis?? my car also bad la RM50 can go around 240-250km oni. :(

Dark Accoon: Can i know what sensor are you talking about?? Air flow sensor? How much is the sensor which you claim that have changed?? for all 3 i meant. thx

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
:shocked: wah bro..
Ur FC is too much liao le..
Mine is 1km around 18 - 20 cents.. better check it properly.. good luck...

keith_njt

Nov 23, 2006
i just drive slowly , 2500rpm then change gear ,no traffic jam at all...wah, ireally wan to cry now...my engine didnt have knock sensor,and my air flow sensor is using code type 445.i just know my ecu under the passenger carpet is mmc 6123,then gear box code is HICO Mf5m222vrxe...help me tis poor boy please...

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
better change the whole set of wire and put the proper ECU...

DarkAccoon

1 sensor at the block ( this is located at the back of the block )

2 sensor at the gearbox...... ( at the gearbox lar, both harness together wan )

last time before changing was RM 80 = 240km
after changing and same driving style RM 75 = 450km

but then to know if it is faulty a not, u gotta sent to a mechanic or more like wireman to plug the reader and read it

changing both cost me around RM 160 for the sensor and RM 20 for the labour ( i which i could have done it myself )
oh yeah, for the sensor rite, i think i kena chop wan cause i bought it from the sunway chop shop ( famous for chopping ppl, but heck i was desperate then )

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Worth a try if its around 150bucks... Can cover back in a month or 2, if can get the type of result such as urs :

"Before changing was RM 80 = 240km
After changing and same driving style RM 75 = 450km"

But may i know what car are you driving?? 4g93 putra/GTI??

keith_njt: Perhaps u could look into this as well..

pifecto14

Jul 28, 2005
Darkaccon: I have find out from my mech that there are oni sensor for auto gearbox, manual tarak sensor. And he claims that juz the block sensor would cost more than RM150. Bro u change all 3 sensor for RM160??. So cheap!

I just installed a centre bullet for my exhaust system. The guy at the shop said in order to extract n feel more power I need to change my stock muffler too. Is this true? Btw, if I want to modify my air intake system to open port type the guy said it is gonna cost around rm400. Is this a reasonable price?