Tufoil Contains Any Ptfe ?

bazet

Regarding to the question, does TufOIL is PTFE based ?

FocalPoint

Apr 26, 2004
Yes, Tufoil has ptfe as one of its components. This is written on the packaging and in all the literature on Tufoil.

The formulation for Tufoil is much copied but never duplicated. It took Mr. Reick a long time to catch on this technology and the result is 12 international patents for it. Ptfe cannot be simply stirred into a lubricant to make it work. The technology according to Reick is " complex" beside the surface chemistry of internal moving parts is tricky.

Tufoil with ptfe has been successfully tested by both the US and Canadian governments, University of N.S.Wales, Technion Institute, Popular Mechanics mag etc. Best of all, it has been tested by you and me in real road tests in Malaysia for 10 years already.

We actually wanted to hear of a spectrum of comments before we start to do this roundup. Since it is long overdue, we are obligated to guide both new and current users on such matters.

Focal Point

Focal Point

FocalPoint

Apr 26, 2004
Also, the video explains in some details the mechanics of using ptfe.

Those in the Klang valley can watch this at Ace Hardware stores in Mid-Valley, Melawati, Ikano and Eneos.

You can also pick up a literature - questions and answers on Tufoil

Focal Point

j4tan

Aug 23, 2004
1. There are many PTFE based oil additives - Slick 50, Liquid Ring, Lubrilon, Microlon, Matrix, Petrolon, QMl, T-Plus, Tufoil

2. These products exist because of a THEORETICAL advantage to their use in lubricating engine compoents, based on a PROVEN advantage in non-automotive mechanical applications

3. Out of all the above products, Slick-50 is one of the earliest and most widely used. It has since been widely criticised because:

a) Very aggressive marketing without independant research verifying its benefits
B) Theoretical and anecdotal evidence of the large PTFE particles causing build-up and clogging within engine oil chambers (the product has to be "shaken before use", adding further proof of the large particulate nature)

4. DuPont prob with-held its approval of PTFE based oil additives bec of the bad press assoc with Slick-50

5. Tufoil is not the same as Slick-50, the same way as McDonalds is not the same as Burger King

6. Tufoil supposedly overcomes the problems assoc with Slick-50 by using nanotechnology (super small sized particles) that don't build up within the engine oil system (doesn't have to be shaken either!)

7. This is somewhat supported by the independent testing and international patents assoc with Tufoil, but not with Slick-50

8. Therefore, you cannot imply that all PTFE additives are equally as good or bad

9. Major automotive manufacturers would never support engine additives for their cars; for the most part, they don't support ANY aftermarket product, as to do so would mean extensive R&D with each individual engine in their line-up using the product. But just bec Toyota doesn't support GReddy intercoolers doesn't mean they're of poor quality, right?

10. The jury is still out on Tufoil, so if you're interested the best thing to do is to try it for yourself!

FocalPoint

Apr 26, 2004
Tufoil has been awarded 12 international patents for its technology. You can view all the registered numbers on the box. You won't find them in others including motor oils.

Tufoil has always been copied but never dupicated. How many brands have come and gone. We are sure in your memory you could list the these brands easily.

Tufoil remains til today the most tested engine treatment in the world. The reason why Fluoramics Inc. , the factory did not make so much noise as to capitalise on its fame is because Tufoil's inventor Mr. Reick happens to be a modest man who continues to care for the environment. Tufoil saves petrol and reduces emissions.

hi guys.. wanna ask sifu sifu here, how does fuel cut switch work?

does it need a seperate key to activate?

and anybody can recommend where to install?