Titan's Pillowball Mounts

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Apr 23 2004, 02:48 AM
yep.

while trying to foil a carjacking incident back in 2000.
didn't work though. The hijacked Cefiro barged thru anyways.
gotta give u credit for heroics...dont think i would sacrifice my car like that...unless i was driving the volvo :D

but a kancil versus cefiro.....what were u thinking man? :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Apr 23 2004, 11:17 AM
devious17,

wei bro, what car you drive?

i'll check if that's possible to sell parts..
a31 laaa. My cusco balls are loose liao!

Originally posted by PetrolHeaD@Apr 23 2004, 01:28 PM
gotta give u credit for heroics...dont think i would sacrifice my car like that...unless i was driving the volvo :D

but a kancil versus cefiro.....what were u thinking man? :lol: :lol:
Adrenalin ma.........

thot wanna go defend the aunty.. but ended up couldn't as the back-up guy had a nice big parang.
sorry lady, your car insured, my life isn't. (it hurts too)

so we let the car go..

Originally posted by devious17+Apr 23 2004, 03:53 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (devious17 @ Apr 23 2004, 03:53 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-ninja_iga@Apr 23 2004, 11:17 AM
devious17,

wei bro, what car you drive?

i'll check if that's possible to sell parts..
a31 laaa. My cusco balls are loose liao! [/b][/quote]
hmmm..

devious17,

okie.. just discussed with me technical boss..
TiTAN's pillowball uniball bearing is WAY bigger than most brands on the market..

so, your Cusco's maybe cannot fit.. but do come and have a look see and let us have an assesment bout the possiblity..

ahhh..

post-45-1082618779.jpg

I saw there is additional strengthening on the strut tower.

Stanley, did you put in the alluminium plate there yourself?

Regards,
William

My cusco balls are loose liao!

Devious dude.... that was a shady statement if i ever read one...
:ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

Originally posted by Bert@May 6 2004, 11:18 AM
OK... what does a pillow ball do and what are the advantages?
pillowball top mounts are designed with performance handling in mind.

OE (standard stuff) are rubber mounted bearings (if any) and this rubber flexes quite a bit and this muffles the road noise (great for NVH) but not so good for feedback+handling purposes.

so, a aluminium plate (usually) is used as the top damper mounting, with a Uni(universal direction)ball bearing used as the means to keep it attached flexibly yet rigidly to the top mount.

While we're at it, a smart fella designed it to be camber adjustable, (MacPherson struts only)

Some, designed it with CASTOR in mind.

TiTAN's are:

T6 Aluminium top plate.
very oversized uni-ball.
castor adjustable on some models.
machined chromed steel housing.

hope this answers it, but anymore queries, do ask !

Originally posted by gti[GSR]@May 6 2004, 01:14 PM
how abt tanabe height adj, can da pillow mount fit wif dat adj?
hi,

it's do-able, but ARE YOU SURE?

anyways

prices are RM750-850 depending car model.
most are RM800

uni-balls are replacable.
RM150 per piece.

prices includes installation and neccesary modifications.

Stanley, where did you get the uniballs? are they from Japan? USA? or Germany... or Buatan Malaysia????

I know the ones that Speedworks sells are from Germany....

Can I have a look at the quality? Interested to get the uniballs oni...

If quality is high end, can used for my fren's rally car.

our uni-balls are SKF bearings..
and also over-specced sized too hehe

do come and have a look-see + comparision, i've (if they didn't rid of it) TEIN's pillowball mounts, the bearing is puny! :lol:

Originally posted by ninja_iga@May 26 2004, 08:12 PM
our uni-balls are SKF bearings..
and also over-specced sized too hehe

do come and have a look-see + comparision, i've (if they didn't rid of it) TEIN's pillowball mounts, the bearing is puny! :lol:
I have to agree with you that tein's balls are puny.

SKF huh? got patent aaa? or else i'll go at it myself :lol:

800 daun pisang i got laaa :lol:

800 daun pisang? arh?

you can use the SKF's bearings.. hehe but our housing is larger to accomodate the huge SKF's uniballs..

muahahahaaha :lol:

Bigger doesn't always means better.... ;)
It's how it's made and the material used... and the slackness between the uniball and the enclosure...
I have not come across any camber plates elsewhere using this particular SKF bearings.
No doubt it came be used, it's just a questioi of how long can it last....

Not hee to spoilt the fun. just bringing some points for discussion

I believe the Tein like majority of the popular Jap "pillowball mounts" use NMB bearings which are of pretty decent quality. However Stanley does have a point in that for pillowball mounts and top camber plates at least, size does matter. This is because the pillowball or spherical bearing has to support the weight of the entire strut assembly itself and this can often impose a lot of stress and extended wear. Others like Ground Control will use a separate torrington or needle bearing assembly to help assist in supporting the strut but this are errm.. not cheap..