thermowrap

handsomeboy

Apr 6, 2007
guys..need some help here.. im driving a satria neo. n recently i just did full exhaust system (full stainless steel) n open pod with stainless steel piping. so my quests r:

1. i want to put thermowrap to both my extractor n my air filter piping. is it advisable? n where can i get this thermowrap done? any suggestion around kl area??

2. n i want to relocate my o2 sensor at my extractor? again, any place to recommend?? n how much?

the reason i ask is i dont wana get conned. still a newby. thanks~~ :regular_smile:

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
oits budak..

thermowrap is not really " sesuai " to be used in hot weather country like M'sia..

its ok to wrap ur air filter piping , but the xtractor..gua risau boleh crack la xtractor.
relocation 02 sensor , u can go to Everco , Sunway n get it done.
relocate it at the..pertemuan 4-2-1..put at middle of 2.

handsomeboy

Apr 6, 2007
hey crazy!! :) hehehe.. oh really? nanti can crack? i guess i changed my mind about it... later i sms u aite?

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
yes , could crack due to high temperature..thermowrap --> contain heat.
so , extractor --> release hot gasses out to atmosphere.

in cold countries , they use thermowrap to prevent cracks.." what happens when u quickly cool down a vey hot piece of hot metal ? "

pada intake piping boleh la wrap..

DJmobile

Dec 13, 2003
The real purpose of the Thermowrap is to Keep the heat in within, advisable for extractor only...
Why put in Air filter piping?
i dont get it...

handsomeboy

Apr 6, 2007
hmmm so which one is it? okay to put or not? DJmobile, im using stainless steel piping for my airfilter... so thats why. btw, u know any good place for me get these thermowrap install??

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
The real purpose of the Thermowrap is to Keep the heat in within, advisable for extractor only...
Why put in Air filter piping?
i dont get it...
but sir ,

not releasing heat could cause wear n material fatigue..

for air filter piping , to insulate outside heat from having contact to air filter piping.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
for intake system, u may use superlon/insuflex type of materials will be better..since thermowwrap is not design for intake....

and being tested, superlon/insuflex material doing better comapre to thermowrap in intake system

just my2cent

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
handsome,what kind of extractor that u use?is it made of s.steel?
if it is,it's advisable to wrap ur extractor with thermo wrap.if u use
hotbits or those aluminised steel,better not cos aluminised steel
tend to crack in extreme heat unlike s.steel.for ur intake,it's
useless to wrap it using thermowrap cos thermowrap tend to
retain heat inside so the heat wont escape to the outside.
for ur intake,there's a product made by HEAT SHIELD PRODUCT
from usa that can reflex the radiant heat from going inside the
intake pipe.sard n thermo tech also came out with this product.
look around at performance part shop.if i were u,i'll use the aluminum
piping for my intake.i know it's expensive but worth it n light.
just my 2 cent.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
best is ceramic coating... but expensive lor...

or else, do custom heatshield for ur extractor can adi lor... not hard to do also.... i think should be easier than wrapping ur headers....

handsomeboy

Apr 6, 2007
handsome,what kind of extractor that u use?is it made of s.steel?
if it is,it's advisable to wrap ur extractor with thermo wrap.if u use
hotbits or those aluminised steel,better not cos aluminised steel
tend to crack in extreme heat unlike s.steel.for ur intake,it's
useless to wrap it using thermowrap cos thermowrap tend to
retain heat inside so the heat wont escape to the outside.
for ur intake,there's a product made by HEAT SHIELD PRODUCT
from usa that can reflex the radiant heat from going inside the
intake pipe.sard n thermo tech also came out with this product.
look around at performance part shop.if i were u,i'll use the aluminum
piping for my intake.i know it's expensive but worth it n light.
just my 2 cent.
bro GT auto, i did my exhaust at JFA...yeah, stainless steel all the way.. so thermowrap for my xtractor n heat shield product for my intake.. btw, my intake also stainless... thanks~~

DJmobile

Dec 13, 2003
for intake system, u may use superlon/insuflex type of materials will be better..since thermowwrap is not design for intake....

and being tested, superlon/insuflex material doing better comapre to thermowrap in intake system

just my2cent
i was thinking something like that as well, not sure if thermowrap on air intake is useful a not..

Hi guys...I'm kinda new...so i'm not sure how things work here...but do any 1 know the average price of timing belt for Toyota Corolla XL 1.3L 12 valves a.k.a AE80...? Your message will truly be appreciated...thanks...=)