Symptoms of distributor going to kong

SePaT

how to identify it?? anyone?? :unsure:

Engine idling not so stable. Engine feel so "berat" pick-up lembap sikit. And at the serious condition the check engine should "nyala" one. That's what I feel before its kong.

but idling not so stable can also mean that ur car need to be tuned back as sudah terlalu kena bantai!!!....and berat pick up can also mean clutch plate already kong lor...:)

i tot all Honda is same.........'Engine idling not so stable. Engine feel so "berat" pick-up lembap sikit.'

Idling not stable is because cam not set properlly.. Hehehehehe

*reffering to higher profile cams*

some say.. if the distributor gonna die...u can trace it while u accelerating hard and suddenly u release the pedal .. and hit it back a bit .. u can hear ur exhaust sending out a 'letup-letup' sound kekekee ( i love talking manglish ekkeek) thats the sign laa.. true or not?? :rolleyes:

i tot the letup letup sound is bcoz fueling too rich?? sorry i not sure oso hantam oni............heheh

so far dunno the symptome ... but well know to kong so bring a spare innigter and coil :)

my car always letup letup if i tekan and change gear at high rev... but its been 1 year and a 1/2 no idling probems or power loss?

sure or not? i see turbo also letup letup hehe

my car's distributer kong once. but didn't feel anything funny@wrong until it was kong! :P

aaahhh...thsi distributor issue really king kong me laa... :lol: :P

hai...

Friend of mine b16a facing this problem before....when he touch distributor cover he 'kena electrical shock' la....ada current la heh..heh...something like currect leakage....tuning unstable.....but still can use for 3 months....but during rainy his engine got 'batuk2' la due to short......then only change the cover for rm70 problem solved....

as I know...distributor problem is due to internal coil burnt....is it can be changed?...some machanic said it can be rapaired with low cost...true or not???

another symptom if distributor kong is engine run 3 cylinder only...one cylinder have no spark...

if letup2 as i know is due to rich mixture....same as mine la but no problem so far....rich mixture is better than lean mixture right.....letup2 happen during 1st gear only but sometime...

chichi,
that noise was due to rich mixture which is common for your car as your rpm rev pass 5800 when the vtec kicks in.

cheers!

Originally posted by mynnDAWG@Dec 7 2004, 16:43
but idling not so stable can also mean that ur car need to be tuned back as sudah terlalu kena bantai!!!....and berat pick up can also mean clutch plate already kong lor...:)
Mine after tuned by abang Din at Bworks and the clucth plate just changed already. But its only happens in one day, morning got pick up lembap and petang check engine nyala. Malam the distibutor gone :(

today ask a friends a mech he told me rpm wil be damm light , climb very fasssttt....and i told him once engange vtec sure fast one mah .. he say at low rpm and that also does not mean it is going to kua .. but he told me distributor cannot say oen ler want to kua straigt kua :(

Err,encounter idling not stable oso means that you're using vtec killer cams.Does that means killer cams makes the distributor 'kong'?Hehe.Just wondering..any idea Xenix?

That High cam idling lain ler bro. This not stable idling is like engine is going to die. Usually the check engine will nyala before its kong. But we all never now. It also can die "terkejut" or English call sudden death ... :D

If I'm not mistaken one of the symptom will be misfiring ..

Originally posted by GTI4740@Dec 9 2004, 10:40
Yup, correct bro, last time me oso got "letup-letup" at the exzos system.

Originally posted by BudakBiru+Dec 9 2004, 11:22 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (BudakBiru @ Dec 9 2004, 11:22 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-GTI4740@Dec 9 2004, 10:40
Yup, correct bro, last time me oso got "letup-letup" at the exzos system. [/b][/quote]

allo bro Din...

letup2 at all gears or at 1st or 2nd only?......at what rpm?

mine letup2 gak sometime but only at 1st gear if i rev just only 4k rpm before change to 2nd gear (mean before vtec kick in).....if rev to 8000rpm no problem....i think mine too rich la....or tappet need for adjustment....