stripping and repaint

yn_hell

Jul 27, 2005
a lot of people said it's not advisable to strip down the paint and repaint a car because it will be very expensive and it will lose the original base coat. it is true?
but with an old car with at least 3 layers of paint, isn't the 4th layer a bit too much?

kobzng

May 30, 2013
Klang
I think with a proper job done the only thing is pain in the wallet. Hehehe.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk

ken yeang

i wont worry about layer of paints, I worry more of layers (of thick) body filler and rusty metal under the paint.

If you wanna restore the car to its former glory, or the car is special enough for restoring....then it is better to strip of the layers of paint.
If not, save the money.....

a lot of people said it's not advisable to strip down the paint and repaint a car because it will be very expensive and it will lose the original base coat. it is true?
but with an old car with at least 3 layers of paint, isn't the 4th layer a bit too much?
Nope, you can strip it down, only thing is expensive work. Once stripped you can respray the primer and base coat first...

no paint is going to be as good as factory paint. so what you do after that is irrelevant, do whatever you like cause it'll never be as good.

kobzng

May 30, 2013
Klang
Ixeo, I kinda disagree. My satria neo factory's paint is quite bad. Clearly can see the difference between bumpers and body. One is less shinier than the other. =/

But... that's Proton... :hmmmm: Let's not start on the whole Proton is crap cause that's another can of worms.

Look at examples by Mazda, Honda etc. Mazdas are really nice. And those Mercedes with ceramiclear, just wow.

EDIT: My bad, I should make an exception for rubbish. Protons are rubbish. Rubbish that is overpriced and handles among the best in its class. But still a piece of rubbish. And yes, I have a piece of rubbish at home :)

I got a quote for my kancil, strip down paint on the whole car & respray costs close to rm4k.
I got quoted RM1500 for a good lacquer metallic paint for kancil :rofl:

RM4K indeed can get another kancil but personal preferences I guess.
Saw a guy in a forum repaint his kancil with Scirocco Green. That would be somewhat crystal paint I guess. Should cost about RM3K

depend on rust.....

if got visible putty/filler flake then it was worth to have it stripped (sandblasted) to the bare metal and repaint with fresh coat

I got quoted RM1500 for a good lacquer metallic paint for kancil :rofl:

RM4K indeed can get another kancil but personal preferences I guess.
Saw a guy in a forum repaint his kancil with Scirocco Green. That would be somewhat crystal paint I guess. Should cost about RM3K
RM1.5k not stripped loh! Sand , putty and spray only....:smokin:

hi fellow DIY-ers, saw this on youtube
[youtube]l5GcKy0rv50[/youtube]

any idea where to find such spray paints in Msia ? tried ace hardware with no luck :(