spark plug gap...

muhamad

Mar 16, 2006
hello all zth members....
i would like to ask the experts here about my turbo car...
what is the suitable gap for spark plug of my car....
is it 12mm or 0.7mm...???
just confius here which one is better....
some said 12mm is for supercharge engine...
mine one is suitable 0.7mm only...
for your info...l'm using toyota 4agze supercharger convert to torbocharge...
will the spark plug gap give any different to the performance of the car..???
please all the sifu2 here help me......
tq.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
gapping the plug to 12mm will make it difficult to jump to the centre electrode.
0.7 should be fine unless u got spark amplifier.gapping it wider make ur spark
bigger if i'm not mistaken.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
dun understand how come can gap until 12mm so far apart ? :hmmmm:

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
suitable spark plag gap? follow the manufacturers recommendation. u definitely won't go wrong with that. and it's definitely 100% suitable for ur engine.

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
1st. Get a spark plug filler blade set. (the same tool that is used to dial-in the valvetrain tappet gaps)

2nd. Gap the plugs according to the manufacturer's spec.

3rd. If you've raised the boost pressure, its advisable to go a step down (narrower) to avoid missing.

Increasing the gap width makes the spark harder to arch and increasing the likeliness of missing.

PS : Don't know the correct gap? check your car's engine manual. It will mention the gap and plug type for your engine.

hello all zthians...

i have this problem with my proton 1.6 Sedan where the trunk has this cranking sound when the car is idling or when i am driving through a bumpy road....

so i was wondering tht is there anyone out there who had solved this problem... please share your solution with me if you dun mind...

thanks in advance...