Request Assistance/Advice

PhiKK

Jul 31, 2004
Recently, the stock engine of my Toyota Corona MKII 1974 died on me. And my only option is to chuck in something new. I was thinking of taking the 1JZ route, but I also have SR20 in mind. I really am not so sure where to send it (recommendations please? preferably somwhere that can do up old cars), so any help advice would be greatly appreciated. I dont know about what hidden costs there might be.

Before the engine died, I stopped over Garang Auto in sunway and they quoted me 15K on eevrything, including chassis reinforcement. PRD (Putera Racing)'s workshop quoted about 10K for the 1jz and 8K altogether for the Sr20.

The original engine is a 2.0 carburetor engine, and previously was told by mechanics that the car body is strong, but obviously, rusted points should be checked out n fixed.

I am unsure as to what to do. I have no experience in this.
Someone please help me? and also I cant chuck in something that consumes more fuel than I can feed the fellow. I'm also a student and i dont really have much money so I cant afford to get myself into somethign which I cant pay for later.

Any response will be greatly appreciated

Battousai

500 RPM
Nov 16, 2003
www.durifto.blogspot.com
Hi Phikk.

If you're looking for the cheapest solution, use the 10k to buy another corona. It would be the cheapest to maintain and most fuel economical.

But if you got the urge for speed, then the 1JZ is the way to go if you value the Toyotaness of your car. Fuel economy and maintenance should be acceptable if you keep it stock. But still more thirsty than your old engine. As a 6 cylinder mill, it is naturally smoother and i think has more torque than the SR20 in standard form.
(not toyota sifu. pls correct me)