Regarding ICE Setup

sreeman

Hi all again :D

I have yet another question for all the sifus out there :D

I have seen many new amps for sale at cheap prices, with 1000W and all. My question is that how do i choose an amp? I am using a 2 chn 600W oldschool amp currently, and thinking of upgrading. How do i choose an amp to satisfy and further boost my ice setup? I have a XCS 6 component set for the front, with 150W and 150W read speakers with a 8 or 10 inch woofer( not too sure LOL ).
If possible, please guide me on the setup and everythig i need to know of a good setup and a good woofer.

Thanks in advanced for the help.

* sorry if there is a topic like this already, but i really cant find it *

Woah no one can guide me? :D

I wanna learn more about ICE !!! :D

Woah no one can guide me? :D

I wanna learn more about ICE !!! :D

If you really want to go for good ICE setup, the 1st thing is do the foundation fist. exp: Upgrade your stock power cable for your HU to 8 AWG power cable + 1 mundorf capacitor, sure you will feel your ICE more power and clear sound. secondly, upgrade your amp power cable and earth wire to 4AWG cable. of coz change the better amp and speaker will help a lot, but be careful to choose the amp and speaker, look back your budget and think properly what kind of setup you looking for SQ or SPL. Frankly, I kena kau kau last time to spent a lot of money on my ICE but all is not useful until i met a guy, Victor... he give me a lot of advice on ICE.
U can call him at 012 296 2799, sure he will give you some useful comment on your ICE, perhaps can hear his demo unit in his car, you will no regret to meet him and hear his demo unit

Thanks for the reply, but how much would the power cable and mundorf capacitor cost on an estimate? By the way, what is a mundorf capacitor for? Its different from the amp current coil thingy in my engine bay right? ( sorry kinda noob wanna learn :D ). Im currently using a component set with 150W speakers for the front and another 130W mid base for my rear. My amp is 2 chn, but i think its directed to my woofer behind. Not too sure as it was there when i purchased my car.

Want to re-do my ICE setup since i baught the front component and the new HU. Was thinking about just changing my amp and woofer. Im not really into SQ currently, as it is quite costly, so im just going for SP.

About meeting your friend, im a very shy person actually =(( so i dare not call him lols. Sigh

When you say earth wire, does it mean my grounding cables? If so, im planing to pu a 8GA cable. Can this be applied?

Thanks for the reply, but how much would the power cable and mundorf capacitor cost on an estimate? By the way, what is a mundorf capacitor for? Its different from the amp current coil thingy in my engine bay right? ( sorry kinda noob wanna learn :D ). Im currently using a component set with 150W speakers for the front and another 130W mid base for my rear. My amp is 2 chn, but i think its directed to my woofer behind. Not too sure as it was there when i purchased my car.

Want to re-do my ICE setup since i baught the front component and the new HU. Was thinking about just changing my amp and woofer. Im not really into SQ currently, as it is quite costly, so im just going for SP.

About meeting your friend, im a very shy person actually =(( so i dare not call him lols. Sigh

When you say earth wire, does it mean my grounding cables? If so, im planing to pu a 8GA cable. Can this be applied?

regarding the Power cable, that is depend on what kindof brand that you want... for HU, you can use any 8AWG cable. If you really wan, i can give you for free lah coz i got a lot of Used 8AWG power cable. Mundorf cap is original from Germany which is specialist on the cap maker. the cap is to stock enough current to supply for your HU or amp. The different between other brand cap and this mundorf amp is other brand amp mayb can't give u a consistent current to your HU or amp exp: mabe you need 12V for your HU, but due to your car battery need to supply current to other electronic in your car, so it would not be always give you 12V every second. due to this the cap can help on this, but other brand mayb this moment 12V but another second is 11.5V something like that. without the consisntent current supply, it may cost your sound system sometime feel good but sometime feel bad especially at the nite time. but mundorf cap can give u a very consistent current for every second. that is y the mundorf cap is more expensive that other amp.

Where are you from? Maybe i can help to arrange an appointment with victor. then you will know what is actual ICE that we need to install. Remember 1 thing. ICE is not just a plug and play game, good amp and HU if can't tuning fine also no point...

Just let me know, i arrange a day for you to meet him, of coz i oso will be there... just hear wut different between my ICE and your once. then only listen the demo unit... you will like it very much.

Spent money on ICE must in the correct way...if you meet this guy, sure you will no regret on it and will kena poison from him...hahhaa

The different between other brand cap and this mundorf amp is other brand amp mayb can't give u a consistent current to your HU or amp exp: mabe you need 12V for your HU, but due to your car battery need to supply current to other electronic in your car, so it would not be always give you 12V every second. due to this the cap can help on this, but other brand mayb this moment 12V but another second is 11.5V something like that. without the consisntent current supply, it may cost your sound system sometime feel good but sometime feel bad especially at the nite time.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I am not using any mundorf caps.
I didn't encounter the problem you mentioned in my 2 systems.

Hmm, thanks alot for that info. Im from kl/bangsar area. Bro, can the capacitor be baught from any accessory shop or just some of it have it? Im planning to get a VS soon and a 5 or 6 point grounding cable. Will adding this do the same as the mundorf capcitor?

I suggest you start with a system without any caps.
Then from there you find if there's any problem.
If none, then spend your money elsewhere.
My system in the Kancil runs without any caps and it sounds great. No problem whatsoever.
If you are interested, you are welcome to audition either or both my systems.

I suggest you start with a system without any caps.
Then from there you find if there's any problem.
If none, then spend your money elsewhere.
My system in the Kancil runs without any caps and it sounds great. No problem whatsoever.
If you are interested, you are welcome to audition either or both my systems.

that is depend on what level of the SQ on your ICE, of coz that is no right or wrong to add in the cap or don't. Add the cap you can feel a bit different... the sound is more clear, power, and "Live" feel, for tuner feel, more analogue sound on your ICE...you will like it much...

last but not least, ICE is not a plug and play game, if you meet the guy i said, you will know wut is that....cheers...

that is depend on what level of the SQ on your ICE, of coz that is no right or wrong to add in the cap or don't. Add the cap you can feel a bit different... the sound is more clear, power, and "Live" feel, for tuner feel, more analogue sound on your ICE...you will like it much...

last but not least, ICE is not a plug and play game, if you meet the guy i said, you will know wut is that....cheers...

I don't understand by "what level of the SQ on your ICE".
Will appreciate if you can elaborate.
Thanx.

I don't understand by "what level of the SQ on your ICE".
Will appreciate if you can elaborate.
Thanx.

What i try to said is, If you look for the high end SQ, like you want your ICE become more toner, analogue sound, "live in concert" feel, then you should go for setting up a good foundation on the ICE 1st, like the power cable, RCA cable, Speaker wire and grounding cable, those would cos you from few thousand RM to few hundred thousand...i mean just only for the foundation, then only go for HU,Speaker custom x-over, EQL and so on...

As i said that is nothing going right or wrong, just depend on your expectation of your ICE. once more time, ICE is not a plug and play game, try to ask more opinion from other ICE crazy stuff...or listen on their different OCE setup, you may have a better think and choice to setup your lovely ICE.

Frankly, I was spend a lot of money to find my lovely ICE... until when i meet Victor, finally, i know what ICE should i go...

Mind to share what kind of ICE setup on your car? what the HU, speaker, RCA, speaker wire and power wire, amp and so on...mayb we can share our opinion over here....cheers...

My set ups???
You go and ask victor, he should know.:biggrin:

i think this bro pisces23 is 1 of victor regular customer:biggrin: who're a ICE enthusiastic. by the way thanks bro alex manage to meet victor today, what i can say about him is he is knowing what he is doing which compare to majority of the accessary shop stuff or even owner.:itsme:. really impressive with what he is teaching me what is ICE, frankly speaking i only can catch 1 point is he is setting up a ICE system with a SQ from home theater system, which i really impressive after listening to his demo car (his own waja). damn really poison:banghead:

I have seen many new amps for sale at cheap prices, with 1000W and all. My question is that how do i choose an amp? I am using a 2 chn 600W oldschool amp currently, and thinking of upgrading. How do i choose an amp to satisfy and further boost my ice setup? I have a XCS 6 component set for the front, with 150W and 150W read speakers with a 8 or 10 inch woofer( not too sure LOL ).
If possible, please guide me on the setup and everythig i need to know of a good setup and a good woofer.

let me answer your initial questions :)
Do you have more info of the 'oldschool' 600W amp?
The 1000W cheap amps that you saw might not be really worth it.
Ok. You mention that you already had a component set. So, probably what you need is an amp that can produce the RMS power rating of that component set and probably more.
The big big 1000w numbers that you saw, most of the times are peak power rating. Which means maybe the amp can do 1000W for a fraction of a millisecond. What you might want to do is compare the RMS watt rating based on CEA-2006 specification. Most newer amp have this in their amp spec/brochure.
But, even if one amp looks like it has more power than the other one, you still need to see the actual power (birthsheet). Those ratings are just the manufacturer's target spec.
Probably, if you can provide specs of the old school amp and what you plan to buy, we might be able to provide better suggestions :)
Until then, happy ICEing :D

choose an amp based on reputation, branded ones are more expensive for a reason, they sound better and they dont boast fake power figures.

your speaker's 150W rating is probly max rating. always use the RMS watt rating, which would probly be around 50-60W only. so u can choose an amp that has 50-60W RMS rating per channel.

Thank you guys for those help. I will post of the model in a short while, ill get it when i wash my car later on. So what i have to look for is the RMS rating. Just say i buy my self a new woofer, do i have to get the RMS rating of the woofer and my front component set
s rating and combine them to know whats the minimum RMS i need for my amp?

Just another question, if i decide to put another component set for my rear, will it make a difference? I mean instead of coaxial speakers, which will be the better choice.

Thanks alot guys, and sorry for the late reply. Dint really get the notification in my email, so i assumed there were no more replies. Thank

Guys i have got the amp code. Its a sony MX4520 2 chn bridgable amp. For some reason, i cant find this on google search. Must be really really old. LOL

Thank you guys for those help. I will post of the model in a short while, ill get it when i wash my car later on. So what i have to look for is the RMS rating. Just say i buy my self a new woofer, do i have to get the RMS rating of the woofer and my front component set
s rating and combine them to know whats the minimum RMS i need for my amp?

Just another question, if i decide to put another component set for my rear, will it make a difference? I mean instead of coaxial speakers, which will be the better choice.

Thanks alot guys, and sorry for the late reply. Dint really get the notification in my email, so i assumed there were no more replies. Thank

when it comes to subs it gets a bit more complicated. u have to check the Bridged Mono RMS rating of the amp and stable down to how many ohms. assuming its a 4ch or 2ch u are using. example a 4 x 50W amp maybe has a rating of 300W rms in bridged mono mode @ 4ohm, so with this figure, u can look for a sub that is rated 250-300W and has a single voice coil.

if u get a DVC or double voice coil sub, u would not be able to use this 4ch amp to play the sub. u have to find one that is stable down to 2ohms and rated at 300W @ 2ohm assuming the sub is a 300W rms sub.

lastly dont waste money on rear speakers, what is important are front speakers and the sound should be coming to u from the front. some of us even disconnect rear speakers altogether as it messes with the front sound stage. the most i recommend is using back OEM speakers, or maybe coaxials, but connected only to HU power, not amp power, and fade the sound more to front. only use rears for a little ambience.

I see, thank you Zenn. So with ym current amp, isit possible for me to get a new sub, hmm below 300W and also power my front speakers?