Question: Amplifier Bass Boost Control selection

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
All Sifus,

ICE noob here, have a simple question to ask, hope can educate me. Thanks in advance.

Question:
- What is Amplifier Bass Boost Control?
- What is the function?
- How to select ( e.g. 0db, 6 db etc )?
- What mean by Bass Boost at 50HZ?
- If the amp is only for subwoofer low HZ bass, how should I select?

Pls advise.. Thanks
Happy New Year...2009 :beer:

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Re: Qurstion: Amplifier Bass Boost Control selection

Anyone can share here?:adore:

nicholaslkh

Feb 14, 2006

As the name suggest, the bass boost is meant for u to boost up the 50hz sub-frequency. The db thing means how loud you want to boost those frequencies. The amp gain bass boost is like the EQ and for your case is at 50Hz. I will not encourage u to turn on that gain if your amp is powering the component speakers. If those speakers are installed at the door panels, it is likely u will get lots of rattling and distortion could be one of the results too. Whether to switch on the bass boost depends on your preference, but please do in a small incremental step and tune to your satisfaction.

My personal experience revealed that the bass boost made my sub more boomy and I hate that. But, others may find that nice if boomy bass is what they are looking for.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005

Thanks Nic,

If want to disable, how to select? set to 0db?

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
I think the name explained itself. Boosting may be cool but a lot of ppl does not know that you are boosting the sine wave to square.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
I think the name explained itself. Boosting may be cool but a lot of ppl does not know that you are boosting the sine wave to square.

huh? sinw wave to square?
can explain more detail? Thanks.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
hehe that info all newbie no need to know lah, afterwards more pening kepala one....

vishnnu

Sep 29, 2008
interesting...sifu:adore:,care to explain on,"square sine wave = clipping"......need to broaden my knowledge to talk cock...hehehe.....:biggrin:

my 86 saga orion,using a motocycle petrol filter..lately my carb always 'sumbat'..what ur guys opinions..