Putra Re-born

the black box dat u r talkin abt is the Air Flow Sensor....
well..to me...to do a stainless steel pipe to replace ur stock rubber pipe is more for "bling bling" factor lo.....
wif the current set up for ur air filter....all u need to do now is to go hardware shop to buy a 3" diameter hose....abt 1.5meters will do....then connect from ur front bumper to the HKS filter...
viola...DIY CAI dat cost less than RM100.....

as for ur "rasa nak malayang" prob...
better go to tyre shop to do up ur balancing n allignment....
since ur car hav been left there for 2yrs....
n also...check the condition of ur tyres....
they may look good as in "bunga" still a lot...
but then same case as the timing belt...rubber tends to get harden over time....
ur tyres may get harden as well...n its very dangerous...ur tyres wont grip/might crack....

maybe i should rephrase my sentence: my car is OLD, full stop! Not old skool.. If sell my car maybe just enough tu get ur 4g93 halfcut.. Hehe
miss lola, i dont quite get it, but is your air filter exposed or its in da box? If its exposed aka open pod, u could opt for a steel pipe for cooler air.. Cool air = better power = happy lola.. Hehe.. Maybe ur alignment is off.. Might want to check that out.. A tire shop would be better, unless u wanna plonk an evo engine into ur putra.. Hehehe can check ur alignment, toe n balancing too..

Oh dude, youve got torque steer ar? Like when you hantam that time the cars pulls to one side?...

Cool air = higher air density = more oxigen per volumetric = more fuel = more power

= happy lola??? not sure about this.

Bro, i think steel pipe will make the air hotter due to engine bay heat without proper wrapping, c/f or ori piping provide cooler air, however steel air does improve air velocity which helps in mid~hi power with proper tuning... just my 2 cents~:biggrin:

Yes, it's will reduce the drag in the pipe.
We call it intake air ramp.

But like said, it'll also heat up the air if not properly insulated.

Just instal the open pod to the rubber hose. and DIY/Customize/But a heat sheild. Should increase 3bhp.

hi boys...

ok... the standard air filter for putra has this black plastic tube, and connected to this black box, which im not so sure what it is,, then its connected to the filter box. the slot in filter..

what the mech did was, he fix the HKS open pod to the black box.. get what i mean? the slot in filter box has been taken out.. so basically its an open air filter..

to bro little wagon, urm.. yeah kind of.. its like.. the car is fast rasa macam nak melayang kereta.. loose control perhaps?

thxxxxxxxxxxx

The black box u mention is connected with a wiring socket right? That is MAF. U can't remove that or ur fuel injection will go out of control. And u'll see CEL.(Check Engine Light)

---------- Post added at 01:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:03 PM ----------

the mech didnt say anything about my waterpump...

cuz i asked him to check everything with the car.. the only thing that is not fix is the allignment.. and he said something about the tires... and my a/c compressor bocor... *sigh

Ppl suggest waterpump change during the timing belt change is because ur timing belt change at 100,000km. For daily driven to work car, 100,000 km would be a few years... So, it could also be the time the check on the waterpump as well.

Ok, if u feel vibration on highspeed, it might have something to do with your wheel balancing.

Aircond compressor how to bocor..? It's either the magnetic clutch not functioning of it's not compressing.

---------- Post added at 01:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:14 PM ----------

well..to me...to do a stainless steel pipe to replace ur stock rubber pipe is more for "bling bling" factor lo.....
wif the current set up for ur air filter....all u need to do now is to go hardware shop to buy a 3" diameter hose....abt 1.5meters will do....then connect from ur front bumper to the HKS filter...

but then same case as the timing belt...rubber tends to get harden over time....
ur tyres may get harden as well...n its very dangerous...ur tyres wont grip/might crack....

Cool air induction kit nowadays with shiny blink blink finishing also cost <RM100.

Agreed with the tyres... Please check.

Cool air induction kit nowadays with shiny blink blink finishing also cost <RM100.

Agreed with the tyres... Please check.

CAI will help ur open pod to suck cooler air from outside. gud upgrade actually. last time CAI cost me about rm110. now, it is getting cheaper.

Bro, i think steel pipe will make the air hotter due to engine bay heat without proper wrapping, c/f or ori piping provide cooler air, however steel air does improve air velocity which helps in mid~hi power with proper tuning... just my 2 cents~:biggrin:
i think i mentioned abt it in my previous post.. Thanx 4 reminding me tho.. :)

so basically its like putting a rat whole from the bumper rite? they got the shiny covers too right.. i got what u mean.. hmmm true true.. maybe i should try this and put it myself! woop woop! hahahaah hope it will work! hahaaha

but guys.. i wanted to know. some guy is selling cusco extractor for RM580 stainless steel... 4-2-1. what do u think?

thhhhxxx

cusco 4-2-1 style header? delicious! go for it. most 93 user like it s much.

a reconditioned or replica? i think is replica gua... i dunno know the market price for this extractor, but i got mine hotbits 4-2-1 for rm480, just for your pricing reference...

---------- Post added at 07:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:55 PM ----------

Another advice for you is dun act impulsively, i kena conned lots of bucks while i started to mod car, very exciting so keep spending... Always double check for product quality, pricing and your own requirement..:biggrin:

a reconditioned or replica? i think is replica gua... i dunno know the market price for this extractor, but i got mine hotbits 4-2-1 for rm480, just for your pricing reference...

---------- Post added at 07:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:55 PM ----------

Another advice for you is dun act impulsively, i kena conned lots of bucks while i started to mod car, very exciting so keep spending... Always double check for product quality, pricing and your own requirement..:biggrin:
its a replica... new.. and cost around RM580.. i will try to get it more less.. the thing is... i am totally lone 'ranger' in this stuff! lol everything is just by myself and guidence by u guys.

i want to see the extractor first before buying it.. how do i make sure its good quality?

wei bro's....can any one of you kl members be a gentleman and help a sis in need? go for a TT and help la sikit....wont it be a nice change for once? helping a girl? hahahahahha :rofl: everytime go TT all batang only....for once got diversity ...:rofl:

Err... user review?? Try check with other people who use same product, google it maybe... i surveyed a lot before i bought mine.

Seriously i dunno how to judge through outlook, well mine is shiny shiny, joint part well welded, quite thick also... :biggrin:

Hai lola,

glad to know there is a female which is interested in motorsport.

in regards of extractor, they have many types in markets...like to us...especially me a turbo charged person...the flow of a extractor play a big role to the engine as well. just because it is brended it does not mean it gives u instant power or works better than other. also the entire flow of your exhaust play a big role for your pick up or top speed......

u see its again based on your preference...what u like your machine to be...increasing a car hp is easy...but how u want the car to run to meet you needs has to come from your decision

there are alot of extractor such as , hotbits, cusco, powerzone, jasma...this is what we see normally and also u have to decide u want a 4-2-1 or 4-1 straight ...

anyway...all the best in your car build up..and glad to see you are progressing

Cheers and happy new year

wei bro's....can any one of you kl members be a gentleman and help a sis in need? go for a TT and help la sikit....wont it be a nice change for once? helping a girl? hahahahahha :rofl: everytime go TT all batang only....for once got diversity ...:rofl:

i will be a gentleman.

Lola, pm me so i can give you my facebook account to add. There u will see a few of my putra mods

Hi ya'lll

thanks for the positive feedbacks and replies! really appriciate it! btw..regarding the extractor.. i understand that 4-2-1 for shorter range.. like example for shorter range of rpm.. and 4-1 its for longer and for big engines rite? but for now.. im thinking to get the REPLICA cusco extractor for a change.. still planning and trying to get more info on how to know its good quality and suitable for my car... some said that if u put the one that doesnt fit or not suitable for the engine, it will cause a lot of problems..

and also.. since that u guys have been following up my progress on my car.. together with this msg i will attached some pics of my engine after gearbox change and also another one after putting HKS air filter... :)))

• IMG00336-20091218-1606.jpg
    IMG00336-20091218-1606.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 118
  • My Unicorn.jpg
    My Unicorn.jpg
    74 KB · Views: 111
Hi ya'lll

thanks for the positive feedbacks and replies! really appriciate it! btw..regarding the extractor.. i understand that 4-2-1 for shorter range.. like example for shorter range of rpm.. and 4-1 its for longer and for big engines rite? but for now.. im thinking to get the REPLICA cusco extractor for a change.. still planning and trying to get more info on how to know its good quality and suitable for my car... some said that if u put the one that doesnt fit or not suitable for the engine, it will cause a lot of problems..

and also.. since that u guys have been following up my progress on my car.. together with this msg i will attached some pics of my engine after gearbox change and also another one after putting HKS air filter... :)))

Haha Lola the 4-2-1 and 4-1 can be used on the same engine 1 :rolleyes:

The 4-2-1's design is to have more torque in the midrange compared to the 4-1 where you get most of the power in the top end...

As I remember, the 4-1 is MORE powerfull but ONLY if you rev your car. SIFU'S! Correct me if im wrong kay? :rofl:

The 4-2-1's design is to have more torque in the midrange compared to the 4-1 where you get most of the power in the top end...

As I remember, the 4-1 is MORE powerfull but ONLY if you rev your car. SIFU'S! Correct me if im wrong kay? :rofl:

so u reckon the 4-1? and whats the different with the original ones and the replicas? what do u think of my engine in the picture? quite old yeah? ...

from the picture, it seems that u might have some fluids running out near the left side of the extractor.
Could be from the head or extractor bocor.

And you are still using the original throttle body.
Change it to V6 or Mivec TB (Throttle Body) which is bout 5mm bigger and you will feel your car more responsive.

What code is your gearbox?

Your engine bay looks nice and clean Lola...:top:

i have seen many engine bay's...and your isn't dirty....it could look better...with a few things here and there...do that some other time..now concentrate on its health and performance ...hahhaha..then cosmetics...

about the extractor....it depends on you actually...what kind of driver are you ? and what do you expect out of your car? in my previous post i have mentioned the differences between the 2 extractors...i wont say 4-2-1 is more powerful then 4-1 or vice versa...its merely shifting your power band only...where do you want you power band to be?

its a replica... new.. and cost around RM580.. i will try to get it more less.. the thing is... i am totally lone 'ranger' in this stuff! lol everything is just by myself and guidence by u guys.

i want to see the extractor first before buying it.. how do i make sure its good quality?

Heard of JIAN HANG... A very Old exhaust specialist at Sri Gombak. Probably just a little newer than Ah HENG Exhaust... But price differs alot...

He recently redesigned a set of piping according to MUGEN 4-2-1. But the 2 is very short... so, it's more for top end... According to him, engine will feel light....

U are right.. straight to the point.