More Power From Your Exhaust

Apr 6, 2006
Just for our discussion...exhaust system in cars includes muffler to reflect the sound waves produced by the engine and reduce high pressure from internal combustion. Hence different capacity engine use different size muffler. To get more power without the noise we can use stock muffler from small cc engine and fit to our more larger engine...like Proton 1.6 use 1.3 muffler....or Kelisa 1000cc using Kancil 850cc muffler.....there is a lot of stock muffler laying around in those exhaust shop rite.....?

DarkAccoon

i dun think it works that way

kruger

Feb 16, 2005
A.Setar
I don't think it is a correct way to increase the power... There's a lot of calculation involved for the exhaust system... Like air pressure and etc...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
meofa said:
Just for our discussion...exhaust system in cars includes muffler to reflect the sound waves produced by the engine and reduce high pressure from internal combustion. Hence different capacity engine use different size muffler. To get more power without the noise we can use stock muffler from small cc engine and fit to our more larger engine...like Proton 1.6 use 1.3 muffler....or Kelisa 1000cc using Kancil 850cc muffler.....there is a lot of stock muffler laying around in those exhaust shop rite.....?
this is because car manufacturers wanna maintain their production cars that has low FC.... smaller muffler and piping, more restriction, less sound, less FC, less power....

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
SkYwAlKeR said:
this is because car manufacturers wanna maintain their production cars that has low FC.... smaller muffler and piping, more restriction, less sound, less FC, less power....
Yeah, you are right bro. And one more thing. Cheap cost.

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
actually i think change to bigger size about 10-20 percent will be nice...but i dun dare to test..cos kancil 660 AT somemore..if 10% increase power but 20% increase fc, then i stick to stock better

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
lol since this topic abit related to my case

wanna ask u guys something.......i just mod apexi open port filter and i tune my RPM about 1300........what u guys think? everything stock just air filter moded only

is it mulut makan too much but ass hole berak too sikit?

my ride is LMST......because i think the piping and muffler already that BIG originally......so i think is ok liao

cause Proton make so big for nothing......then after i mod intake now the BIG then got use now already? or still need to make the piping and muffler bigger?

DarkAccoon

first consider this

does ur engine generating enough preasure to push the exhaust out
if the piping is too big, and ur exhaust does not get pushed out .... well, what u get is a back flow and lost of power

meofa

Apr 6, 2006
so....is it the other way around....smaller car using the muffler of more bigger car because bigger muffler less restriction equals more power

ken yeang

dont forget the intended and usable rpm range of the your engine in relation to the intake and exhaust system.....

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
the bigger size of piping and muffler is better?

last time heard people said if too big......the pressure is loosen........

LMST ori muffler quite big.....piping size i duno

but not intend to mod any exhuast system 1st cause just 1 year sharp only my car

after 2 years will mod

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
ksgoh said:
because of environment, muffler is a must.....once warranty is void, change it into a bullet....u will feel the power liao......this is what a eon servive avisor told me....
bullet only enuf? no need extractor 4-2-1? bigger piping? and better muffler for LMST?

bullet is that 1 'tabung like' that thing? how much it cost? got brand or such?

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
erm my cousin got one LMST ..... he just change the center box to a bigger one .... onli RM100 ... the sound inside the car reduce by 50% ..... if really wan silent the u gotta find one exhaust pipe no sound but give high performance ..... i think its bout RM300 - RM500 in the range ...... 4-2-1 piping gives u better ride when in high speed ...... but for me la ...... with a 4-2-1 i felt no power when start in 1st gear ..... compare to last time i use 4-1 .... but when car reach to 100 oledi wah the ride really nice la ....

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
lol what do u meant reach 100km/h then the ride is nice?

u meant silent and back pessenger ears won't deaf?

good afternoon all, this question struck me moments ago:

if a car's engine is transplanted from a lower 1.5 to a 1.8 one, how will it affect the accuracy of the meter reading on RPM and speedometer?

for example my car is satria 1.5 which has a 6500rpm red line on meter, but the 4g93 engine spec reads it has a red line of 7500rpm. how do i know if im getting an accurate reading?