How to test springs & abs?

aboo

Noobie here,

Just a simple question. How do we check health of springs (esp sport springs) & absorbers based on the tests mentioned.

1. Spring still ok or not?

- when pressing down on car
- when driving @ hi-speed
- when cornering
- bottoming effect
- when go over pothole
- when go over bump
- when braking

2. Absorber ok or not?

- when pressing down on car
- when driving @ hi-speed
- when cornering
- bottoming effect
- when go over pothole
- when go over bump
- when braking

Need to make some important decisions regarding these 2 components.
Thanks in advance!

testing absorber can b done like this :

press the car body as much as you near the absorber & suddenly release the car........it shd go up slowly & not bounce up & down too much , if the abs is out then it will bounce up & down & pressing each side would also be easy but if its in good condition then pressing it would feel very hard & when releasing it won't bounce

springs are supposed to last their lifetime but sometimes under severe driving conditions it may loose its "effect" & even with good absorbers if the car is swaying too much & feel too hard or too soft then just change to another spring to find out if the spring was the culprit , other than trial & error method i don;t think there is any other mechanical way to check a spring's effectiveness

Thanks simon,

Sigh, I suppose my car have to change both. Stationary test oso bouncy. Driving also swaying (body roll) esp when speeding - but that one can use to shift weight & drift hahaha :)). Thnks 4 the info!

Cheerio~!

hv a very to check....
touch u tyre see flat or not.....if not flat that mean u problem very serious liao..
Good luck