How to re-thread loosen nut

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Hi to all diy enthusiast. I've got a problem loosen thread nut for engine mount.
So how do I need to solve the problem?
I've been thinking to get a thread maker tool and make a bigger thread diameter on the nut. Is it will work?

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Get a new same size nut for it. A thread maker tool is made of hard material. So is a nut. The amount and effort you spend do not worth it.

Rafale

Dec 10, 2006
Selangor KLIA
I guess you can give it a try if you already have a re-threading kit..it might work providing the nut thread is not badly screwed up or you can just find a new nut. Hassle free :)

That rethreading kit is useful to have. Buy one and also buy a new nut. Try to rethread and if tak boleh, use the new nut!

DIY style! Do everything! Wahahahaha

yep...i always using re-threading kit with the helical coil thread replacement....so can use back the original size screw....

but those was easier on alloy/aluminium material because it was soft and easy to work with...

or steel also can but need a little patient and proper technique so not to damage the tool while doing it....

u can buy it at ace hardware or plenty to choose at "bolt&nut" engineering shops..don't forget bring a sample in case u didn't know the thread specification :adore:

*this example for one size kit: http://www.tooled-up.com/ShowImage.ashx?Type=3&File=RCL30050.jpg&Man=RCL1&Size=460

*this example was the insert helical coil for new thread (additional separate buy if u need more than supplied): http://www.tooled-up.com/ShowImage.ashx?Type=3&File=RCL05033.jpg&Man=RCL1&Size=460

*this example of complete kit for bolt and nut re-thread: 112pcs Master Rethread Tool Kit,Engineer Tool Kit,Auto Tools Photo, Detailed about 112pcs Master Rethread Tool Kit,Engineer Tool Kit,Auto Tools Picture on Alibaba.com.

(#all those link reference purpose only..nothing related to my bussiness) :adore:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
try a longer screw 1st..

sumtimes it works :wink:

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Get a new nut is the best. But in my case, the loosen nut are welded inside chassis hole.
Original bolt is size 14mm.
My foreman recommend to drill a hole at the chassis and put new nut while bolting it.
But I want to keep it as original as possible

^pomen_GTR^ : since you have the tools kit, could you do it for me (I'll pay it for you of course) coz I think not worth to buy a tools to use it once or twice.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
I've threaded many materials before during my University final year project which is a prototype. Bold n Nuts are made to be hard..damn hard...except cheap/no quality ones. Unless you want the satisfying feel of DIY, I advise you just buy a new nut.

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
I can buy a new nut. That not a problem. The problem is original nut are welded inside the chassis. So how to replace that nut?

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
I can buy a new nut. That not a problem. The problem is original nut are welded inside the chassis. So how to replace that nut?
hm..if that's the case..then you have little choices bro. You can rethread the nut..but gotta make sure that you have ample of space to do it since the nut is not removable. The threading tool itself isnt small and you need good grid and torque to thread it. Good luck

Get a new nut is the best. But in my case, the loosen nut are welded inside chassis hole.
Original bolt is size 14mm.
My foreman recommend to drill a hole at the chassis and put new nut while bolting it.
But I want to keep it as original as possible

^pomen_GTR^ : since you have the tools kit, could you do it for me (I'll pay it for you of course) coz I think not worth to buy a tools to use it once or twice.
err...i didn't have the complete kit...

i just have 1size kit for 8mm screw only...... :adore:

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Thanks all for your support. Which ace hardware store is the best? IMHO located at midvalley.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Thanks all for your support. Which ace hardware store is the best? IMHO located at midvalley.
Midvalley one is kinda complete already. Maybe try Publika? It's a new store but I think they are the same...maybe can get some promo because of new launch? Just my 2 centssssssss

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Publika? Where is it located? Never heard...

virqai

Dec 30, 2010
Publika? Where is it located? Never heard...
before u buy the kits better u know the size and thread first...is that 14mm u said is the bolt(sub) size or 14mm box socket u use to open its...coz formen talk and hardware talk not same...

10mm box socket = bolt M6 - for tread always 1.25
12mm " " = " M8 - " " 1.5
14mm " " = " M10 " " 1.5 (nissan car diff tread 1.75 i think)

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Its 14mm box socket sir. Maybe i should bring bolt and nut as a sample

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Problem solved. Bought the tool and re-thread the nut. Actually it's pretty easy coz original thread is there.
Use longer bolt and wrap it with white tape to make it tighter a bit. Hand tight the bolt. Tadaaa....
:driver:

virqai

Dec 30, 2010
Problem solved. Bought the tool and re-thread the nut. Actually it's pretty easy coz original thread is there.
Use longer bolt and wrap it with white tape to make it tighter a bit. Hand tight the bolt. Tadaaa....
:driver:

Congrt..:congrats: warrgg!!! sory..sory..i'm wrong :banghead:about the thread..its 1.25..always confuse coz some car model share and some not...:adore:

Got this:

"This account has been suspended. Either the domain has been overused, or the reseller ran out of resources."

Plus, there has been no new updates from the sellers.