how to mod a powerful mivec??

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
bro and sis in ZTH... currently downgrading from mivec turbo to mivec n/a and for daily drive.... plan to mod and get a powerful n/a too since i dun wan disappoint myself after driving the n/a form... i plan to have:

1.) rechip ecu

2.) afc neo for some adjustment and make my rpm till 10k

3.) final upgrade, jun stage 3 high cam

can i do this like this?? will i gain more power?? my mivec is already 1.8 .... pls comment and share with me what u guys think... TQ :burnout:

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Its not easy to make the 1.8mivec rev till 10k. Especially with its long n curvy stock intake manifold..

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
then how?? any help and suggestion??

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Forget about the first 2 suggestion, it's just waste of money as you will need a standalone unit to match well with hi cam, and most of the good standalone unit can cover the two purposes you mentioned.

You downgraded from turbo to na for better daily drive, but now wanna increase horse power again?:hmmmm: anyway, the hi cam is good mod, coupled with customize intake and throttle body will yield better result, maybe a msd for better and accurate ignition.

Still not satisfied? go for stroker kit...

Still not satisfied? install back your turbo kit... :burnout:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
what standalone ecu is recommended?? price?? and i afraid no ppl knowhow to tune it at Kuching here...... i plan to step by step , high cam is last, 1st nid to tune a/f and hav a mivec controller.... and then 10k rpm

wait untill u install high-compression piston (dome type)..

then only u install hi-cam....

because n/a tuning especially for high rpm need to increase compression ratio to further increase the combustion efficiency...added power was a bonus...but u'll get better torque across all rev range... :adore:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
i fit in with mivec high compression piston... compression rate 11

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:37 AM ----------

really nid suggestion here, can anyone give suggestion how to do this mod?? help pls :burnout:

Mrnazmi

Jan 17, 2005
Drag City
10K rpm??? Need to do a lot of stuff dude..:driver:
And using stage 3 Jun High Cam for daily driving??
For me its not really good option because still not efficient in fuel consumption.

Better try re-chip ecu and tune using AFC Neo first..:proud:

*another one...use v-tec/mivec controller to open your mivec stage ealier..thus u can have better torque without sky-high rev....(eventually daily drive would become easier especially while crawling in traffic jam)

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
hurm.. :hmmmm: i have tried my fren's mivec with only rechip and fuel adjustment using afc neo, can tarik till redline already without cut..... but i plan to redo my car's look 1st la since my car a bit ugly already..... paint can see paty inside...... >.< plain to install mivec front bodykit with big spot light.... anyone knows the cost?? and also... i think high cam din affect much if u r not rev high during normal drive rite?? i tried my turbo with some low boost driving ,not more then 0.5bar, average speed 80-110, only can get 7km/L :bawling: it is damn high rite??

pomen: i heard if those valve timing and lifting system like vtec and mivec if on early will decrease power rite?? :hmmmm:

hurm.. :hmmmm: i have tried my fren's mivec with only rechip and fuel adjustment using afc neo, can tarik till redline already without cut..... but i plan to redo my car's look 1st la since my car a bit ugly already..... paint can see paty inside...... >.< plain to install mivec front bodykit with big spot light.... anyone knows the cost?? and also... i think high cam din affect much if u r not rev high during normal drive rite?? i tried my turbo with some low boost driving ,not more then 0.5bar, average speed 80-110, only can get 7km/L :bawling: it is damn high rite??

pomen: i heard if those valve timing and lifting system like vtec and mivec if on early will decrease power rite?? :hmmmm:

*adjust to switch on a bit early only....of too early the higher-lobe cam would take over while it has torque low-spot in the rev range ...(similiar to advance cam pulley...too advance sure no power at all...if properly adjusted can make "wow" and u'll smile....

-7km/L while "on boost" most of the time ah???

-complete mivec bonnet+bumper w/spotlight may cost close to rm800(and maybe more) <<not including spray paint...if not mistaken...

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
nope... 60% no boost 40% boost... even boost also for a few sec to accelerate a bit....

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:23 PM ----------

i c those ppl sell at 1k plus le >.<

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:24 PM ----------

i mean full front body part, include fender and lights and etc...

nope... 60% no boost 40% boost... even boost also for a few sec to accelerate a bit....

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:23 PM ----------

i c those ppl sell at 1k plus le >.<

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:24 PM ----------

i mean full front body part, include fender and lights and etc...

if full with fender and headlight sure more...so prepare around rm2k for that alone... :adore:

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
i can already get evo body for that much of price...

Newbienissan

Banned
Jul 19, 2010
earth
*another one...use v-tec/mivec controller to open your mivec stage ealier..thus u can have better torque without sky-high rev....(eventually daily drive would become easier especially while crawling in traffic jam)
yeah, if you set it to activate at 3500rpm, is even better!

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
is it?? though ppl say slower u on the power will it is

Newbienissan

Banned
Jul 19, 2010
earth
its all depends on tuning of the powerband you want. also have to see what kind of gear ratio is running. F20 vtec engine on my friend drift car, the vtec kicks in at 4000rpm....but not street use, drift competition use