how to determine RMS rating?

menghua84

sifus.. i wana know how to know the RMS rating for amps which onli stated for example 300 watts.. or 50W per channel.. how can i know the RMS rating? can calculate?

Can be calculated! but i don't know how...Easiest way is to RTM (Read The Manual) ;)
It's stated there for eg.
75w X 4 @ 4 ohm etc etc..
i hope that helps :)

usually RMS is half of the max power. it is very difficult to know whether its max power or rms power.

one way is try to check the fuse rating. if it has 20 - 30 a fuse but claim it produce 1000w would you believe it? there is a lot of ovveratted amp out there. so before you buy an amp, do your homework first.

a rough estimation guide will be to follow the P=VI rule...

Power = max power
V = voltage.. take 12 as an example
I = Fuse rating

So an amp with a 30 watt fuse rating will get 12x30 = 360

this 360 is max power... so divide by 2 for RMS power = 360/2 = 180

Then divide by number of channels

Note: This is a rough estimation guide only. Not for exact power ratings. Design of amp will make the figure change.

thanks bert.. btw how much voltage is supplied in the car for an amp? i heard that car battery onli provide 12V for all electronics in the car?