How do u measure ur car performance without a dyno?

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Feb 24, 2011
Shah Alam
Dear Friends,

We all love our cars & like to improve our rides (if u're not, u won't come to ZTH, right?) :biggrin:

I would like to know how do u measure improvement of torque & hp without putting ur car to a dyno machine..?

Especially after u bolt on some simple performance part..

Let me share how i do it 1st.. i'm not a pro.. so, my method is not exactly correct..

IDLE SPEED
the 1st thing i would do is take note what rpm my engine idle before and after i bolt on the part..

usually, i notice an increase of 100 to 200 rpm after i put something good.. it would be more if i put something really good..

and no change or lower if i put something bad..

HOW LOW CAN U GO
2ndly, i would test drive my car until the highest gear.. then, slow it down to 40km/h.. after that, full throttle.. & see if my car rattling or drive like normal..

if it goes like normal.. it's good news.. if it goes better than b4, even better :biggrin:

if not, there's something wrong..

this i think measures ur low rpm torque

Note : u must measure before & after u put the parts

GADGET
I have an application on my android phone & it's called 'Car Performance'..

i use it to measure 0-100km/h , quater mile timing, etc..

but it's not very accurate..

So, if u have better method and/or wanna share any gadget, feel free to post it here..

:driver:

Attachments

Last edited:

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Oct 8, 2010
Kuala Lumpur
Hmm for idle speed, what's your reasoning for testing it as such? Because if the bolt on parts are designed to operate in still the same standard idle speed or shold be tuned to also return to the same std idle speed then you would not notice by doing this.

For low end grunt, it depends on what is the purpose of your engine mod. Big turbos and high cams for example often they will actually give worse low end torque.