Ho to install an Open Pod Air Filter to Altis

dwight_my

Feb 25, 2005
Kepong, KL
Hi there to all Sifu,

Does any one knows how to install an open pod air filter to a Toyota Altis 1.8? This was previously used on a proton Wira and i would make use of it.
Any one out there who can help is much appreciated n TQ

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
And on top of that, make sure u shield the filter from the engine heat... too much heat = less power, more fuel consumption.

dwight_my

Feb 25, 2005
Kepong, KL
How to install Open pod Air filter

SkYwAlKeR said:
u need to buy a suitable adapter....
Hi SkYwAlKeR,

Would you know what kind of adapter n where can i get it or can i custom made or DIY the adapter?

Regards
DH

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
altis stock rampipe is 3inch...but there is MAF sensor at the filter box...tat one can remove or attached to the box directly?

if tat the case, u gotta customized a rampipe to fit in the MAF sensor...before u can fit in ur open port filter...

and for better effect on performance n fc...u can go workshop to do a heatshield, this is to block the hot air going in to the air filter....and conect a Cold Air Intake to the filter, to allow colder air from outside to be suck into the filter.

my 2cent n corect me if im wrong

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Or to save the hassle and cost, just opt for a replacement filter... at least 40% better than stock.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
The Japanese designed the airbox for a reason... to keep the heat out. What u need to do is to divert more air in. Upgrading the stock filter will help a little but adding CAI (cutting a hole on the bumper and put aluminium tube to airbox) will help a lot.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
yeap... japanese are not malaysians... they do know what they are doing and design cars for passion...

malaysia only know how to do it for profit....

so, if u wanna save hassle, sell off that open-port filter, buy a drop-in filter element.... direct fit into ur airbox....

dwight_my

Feb 25, 2005
Kepong, KL
Well to all Sifus...

Thank you very much for your advice...Well than i'll guess i'll stick to a Drop-in K&n filter... but does any 1 knows how much or estimate the market cost for the drop in type?

I'll just sell off my open pod air filter... and get a K&N.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
dwight_my said:
Thank you very much for your advice...Well than i'll guess i'll stick to a Drop-in K&n filter... but does any 1 knows how much or estimate the market cost for the drop in type?
if u plaN to get it from zth seller...HMS is selling.....u can contact him for price...it will be range from rm200-300:_:

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
K&N is a proven product... so, no regrets later. Some cheaper air filters can cause more harm to the engine because they don't filter dirt particles very well.

mu24

Jan 18, 2005
hey who sells CAI in zth?

mu24

Jan 18, 2005
but i want ppl to do it for me... cuz need to drill 2 holes at my bumper to suck the cold air in

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
mu24 said:
but i want ppl to do it for me... cuz need to drill 2 holes at my bumper to suck the cold air in
or u can juz get it from eneous since u wana put it at front bumper. u need a bellmouth to make it nicer

go eneous buy n bring to ur mech.he can do i guess