GSR modded with Evo 3 turbo and 450 cc injectors

opp1

Mar 22, 2005
Dear Si Fusss,

I hv a stock GSR 1.8T RS engine in my GTI. I am planing to look at the follwoing mods:

I am certain that some of you have done such mods.

GSR 1.8 T std TD04 turbo to Evo 3 turbo TD05-16G.

1) Is the turbo swap plug and play? If not, what needs to be modified?
2) Is the Evo 3 turbo too big for a stock GSR RS? Too much lah? Would an Evo 1 or 2 turbo be a better bet?
2) Any recommendations on the injector size? Some say VR4 450 cc injectors are a good match some say Evo 510 cc are better. Any idea? Are the 450cc injectors plug and play?
3) Do I need a better fuel pump? If yes, what type and can I use the Evo 3 fuel pump?
4) How much boost can I run if it is yes for all the above extras added?

Thanks for your feedback.

SON GOKU

Sep 27, 2005
I did one but need to add up a thing or two

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
yo bro
installing a bigger turbine u need many mod
better go 4 the evo injector 510cc coz it is much more suitable

if all those had installed,u can at least boost up to 1.2 bar

al_gti

Oct 14, 2004
SJ
im using 510cc injector..change bigger fuel pump..and the evo 3 air flow sensor...

but get ready for the FC..
i cant really reach 250km with full tank..city driving,got boost a little lar..

hope this can help..
-cheers-

jinkl-

Klang
err i would ask u to go for a e3 turbine, hard to get but worth the money for an extra power 7cm instead of 6cm , hp rate is abit higher , a 510cc injectors would be tasty as well as 450cc injectors , but depends how high u wish to boost , if low boost then 450cc would be fine , cos vr4rs does use only 450cc but then its a td05 small 16g. but 510cc i tink if u boost 1.8bar also should be able to feed enough fuel.
dont recommend u to go for evo pump , its 100lph i guess but then , u could easily get a skyline pump one which has higher rate for around the same price ..

yes i tink gsr stock internal some people even whack 1.4bar with it, but with proper tuning , make sure tuning is right. td05 is pleasureable after 1bar :P

opp1

Mar 22, 2005
Guys,

Thanks for the inputs. seems that everyone says the same thing. Evo injectors with an Evo 3 turbo. Do I really needs the MAFC from the Evo 3 also?

I am looking at 1.2bar with stock internals. Is this safe ? Cheers!!

jinkl-

Klang
1.2 bar erm , metal gasket is it in yet ?
MAF of evo should be better i guess , higher capacity i guess
but then u change maf u have to tune, main thing is to tune

opp1

Mar 22, 2005
Bro,

So should I get the MAF or not? If I keep std AFS what would happen? Cheers!

SON GOKU

Sep 27, 2005
opp1 said:
Bro,

So should I get the MAF or not? If I keep std AFS what would happen? Cheers!

TD05-16g will work best with stock a.f.m, while TD05-20g will work best with e3 afm :albertein

SON GOKU

Sep 27, 2005
Please take note that custom turbo manifold is essential :albertein

opp1

Mar 22, 2005
Sifuus,

Thanks for you inputs. I have a customer bananna manifold and just got 510 injectors today.Can you guys recommend the type of fuel pump I need to upgrade too? Also how much should I be paying? Thanks

opp1

Mar 22, 2005
Guys,

The turbo is in Evo 3with the injectors 510. Fuel pump from Walpro also in. Now waiting for AFC tuning and looking forward to the dyno numbers.

Anyone with a similar set up with dyno numbers at 1.2 bar? Thanks

i am driving a slk 660...but i notice that....my air filter always have engine oil stain...but just only aside..not whole filter lah....what happen har? is it serious???