Go neutral in an AT for no sudden acceleration

Aug 22, 2012
california, usa
In case you are afraid of unintended unexpected acceleration and also you have an automatic transmission automobile, listen up. You can change into neutral and it won't damage your engine. Not only that, but it can help to save your life and the lives of others. Are you looking to sell or purchase a used or new automobile? If this could be you, get the ideal Ford at Gus Johnson used cars Spokane! Want to know find out more about Gus Johnson Ford? Please click here.

Going into neutral

A stuck throttle - the harbinger of unexpected, accidental acceleration - can lead to severe property damage, injuries and even death. While relatively rare, the mainstream media has given the ghost-in-the-machine demon stories of cars careening out of control wings. The answer, according to Popular Mechanics, is to change into neutral, even in an automatic transmission vehicle.

It is rare for a stuck throttle to happen; much of the time, when there is unintended acceleration, it comes from the driver pressing the gas pedal instead of the brake. Either way, you could be saved from an accident by switching into neutral. It will stop the transmission from going whether you are pressing on the brake or not. Even as a passenger, sometimes it is good to know that you can put the car into neutral to stop a driver that is struggling or out of control.

Shifter will not hurt

It could really hurt your engine to change into park or to reverse while you are in motion, unless you are driving a new automobile while shifts into park are ignored unless the vehicle is going a half-mile per hour or less. A modern motor will not trigger any damage to the automobile shifting into neutral though. Even though you need to always avoid other shifts, neutral will never hurt your vehicle, it will just not allow you to press on the gas anymore.

To Get The Ultimate Bargain On A Used Or New Car, Van, Truck or SUV Contact Capital Auto Loans Immediately.

Steps for unexpected acceleration

Unintended acceleration is rough, but there are a few things to do. Follow this list:

Shift to neutral.
Apply the brakes and move to a safe position.
Shut off the engine without shifting.
Shift to park.

Need an auto finance loan? Try Gus Johnson cars, Spokane!

Acceleration to be stopped
Sudden Acceleration: How to stop your car if it happens to you - YouTube

Sources
Consumer Reports
New York Times
Popular Mechanics

all D.I.Y sifu...
just wanna know how to spray the engine cover?
any special spray?
where to get it?what brand is good?what is the cost?
i wanna spray my like pic below.